We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of Tokyo Bay

Tokyo Bay
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tokyo Bay is located beachside, on Auckland's famous Takapuna Beach. Our Japanese team serve modern, not fusion, Japanese cuisine, of the highest standard.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Quick and efficient service at Tokyo Bay. Food was lovely and the waiters were attentive. A slight mishap receiving the wrong glass of wine, but they realised and fixed before we had even tasted.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank Westfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 54 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2024

From the succulent sushi to the impeccable service, our Sunday lunch at Toyko Bay was a real treat. The restaurant's charming waterfront location added to the ambiance, and our waitress's keen attention to detail made the experience even more enjoyable. We left happy and satisfied, with not a single thing to fault. In fact, we're already looking forward to trying out your dinner menu next time!

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank IO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024 via mobile

We had such an amazing lunch at Tokyo Bay on a weekday. The staff were incredible and very obliging and outgoing. The food was fresh and delicious and drinks were fabulous. It was such a pleasure as I could not fault a single bit of the experience. It was also lovely to see such a well thought out kids menu! We left very satisfied and will definitely be back to try more of the menu!

Date of visit: December 2023
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024 via mobile

We had dinner at this restaurant and our expectation was big because of the many good ratings.
However, the food was not so amazing…. We had much better sushi/sashimi/miso soup at other places (which were even cheaper).
Would not visit again.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank HiddenPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024

Exceptional! Without fail.
Toyko Bay, Takapuna is without a doubt one of the best restaurants in New Zealand.
I am a very regular diner in both the Takapuna and Ponsonby restaurants (Tokyo Club). The service is wonderful; friendly and welcoming. The sashimi is as you would expect, always fresh. Their eggplant miso-yaki is scrumptious, gyoza dumplings are just perfect.
A bonus is that your dog can join you seated outside, quite likely with a little treat and cheerful greeting from staff.
Too tip; go there on a full moon, sip an Asahi and watch the moonlight above Rangitoto and illuminating Takapuna beach, simply magical!
A reservation is essential.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank shellshockt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Bay also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland, North Island
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.