We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointing!”
Review of Tokyo Bay

Tokyo Bay
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tokyo Bay is located beachside, on Auckland's famous Takapuna Beach. Our Japanese team serve modern, not fusion, Japanese cuisine, of the highest standard.
Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

Absolutely awful! I’m shocked this place has such great reviews, it’s probably the worst sushi I’ve had in all of NZ. I’ve had better sushi at the airport. We ordered the gyoza to start, the dumplings were stuffed with only minced pork, no veggies, nothing. I could barely eat one. Then the salmon nigiri arrived and looked suspect. I took one bite and had to spit it into my napkin. It was chewy and super fishy…gross! I’m on my way home to order take out! 🤣

Date of visit: December 2023
1  Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 51 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2023

Although we sat inside, with the big doors open we were still able to enjoy the ambience of the beach location while enjoying delightful japanese food. We have now been 3 times and each time gets better as we get to know the menu and how to make the most of our preferences. Will be back.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
2  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2023

Excellent food and friendly service. Meals served really quick and were delicious. Had the fried chicken donburi and tofu donburi. We'll be back on our next visit to Takapuna.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarenColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2023

I had never been here before, the food was amazing and Sarasa was a very entertaining host.

Absolutely recommend to anyone wanting to impress a client. She is amazing.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Voyager13274059866
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2023

Great grill bento that came out quickly. Sarasa is one of the best hosts in the business. Am looking forward to my next visit.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nomad56270661698
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Bay also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland, North Island
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.