We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Quality Japanese restaurant in Northshore”
Review of Tokyo Bay

Tokyo Bay
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tokyo Bay is located beachside, on Auckland's famous Takapuna Beach. Our Japanese team serve modern, not fusion, Japanese cuisine, of the highest standard.
Reviewed 11 October 2020

This place is amazing! I've took my friend for her birthday dinner and that was best decision ever! The food are well presented and fresh and delicious!! Must try their sashimi and sushi platter and eggplant and chicken karaage! Also the manager was very nice with great manner. This place become my no.1 restaurant in Auckland!! Highly recommended:)

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank Ssun83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 379 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

This is the second time we have eaten hear, and it won’t be our last. The service was faultless from the moment we arrived. Our waitress Emu, pronounced M.U. was excellent, attentive, engaging and helpful. The menu has a reasonably broad selection and it was wonderful to see they had a separate Gluten Free menu which made selecting Gluten Free options easy. The food was fresh, authentic, and beautifully presented. The restaurant has a stylish fitout and has a lovely outlook to the sea. What a lovely experience our dinner was, can’t wait to return.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank 467DonaldM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2020 via mobile


Yup, again fantastic and friendly service and terrific food.

Popped along with friends the other day. We enjoyed numerous offerings off the menu and i enjoyed the Asahi 500ml beersies.

Cant wait to return.

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank nznims
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2020

Monday night - in level 2 Covid and it was pumping - great energy - we had a lot of different dishes we shared and the flavours were sensational - be warned to bring your wallet tho - for 2 of us with on glass of wine $170

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Discerningdiner22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2020

We enjoyed a delicious lunch at Tokyo Bay.. Great seaside views, atmosphere, decor, food & service.
The menu was very comprehensive and offered a lot of variety. The bento boxes are excellent value and delicious. Highly recommend Tokyo Bay.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
3  Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Bay also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland, North Island
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.