We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding lunch on a holiday weekend”
Review of Tokyo Bay

Tokyo Bay
Ranked #1 of 110 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$48
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tokyo Bay is located beachside, on Auckland's famous Takapuna Beach. Our Japanese team serve modern, not fusion, Japanese cuisine, of the highest standard.
Reviewed 22 October 2018

Four of us went for lunch to Tokyo Bay on a holiday weekend Monday. It was a sunny beautiful day and the view is, of course, wonderful.
But the food was fantastic, the service was charming, and we would all return happily any time!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2018

One of our favourite restaurants, we eat there regularly and it's always great! Excellent fresh food, plenty of good gluten free options. Staff are very accomodating. Large sashimi platter is beautiful and GF Karaage Chicken, GF Teriyaki Chicken, Aburi Salmon Nigiri and Duck are all so good!
Sarasa and her team go the extra mile to make you feel very welcome and make sure special occasions ie birthdays and anniversaries are very special.
Restaurant is also open all afternoon so great for a late lunch.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sharon2462018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

One of our favourite restaurants in NZ!! We go there so often they know what we order off by heart! The salmon donburi is so fresh and grilled to perfection and the miso soup is the best ! とても美味しいレストランです!スタフも優しいし、明るいです。ここはおすすめ!highly recommend this place to go to and the interior design is also stunning. Great place for a couple or a group of people wanting to have great quality Japanese food and service ! いつも御 ご馳走様です( ◠‿◠ )

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank somwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

The food here is lovely, and well priced too! Good location right on the beachfront of Takapuna, and the staff are extremely friendly and professional! Highly recommend for a catchup dinner or a quick lunch break bento!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pecerrino121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Small restaurant with outside seating available. Excellent service and food was good value. Must book in advance as very popular. My teens enjoyed it too.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Bay also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Takapuna, North Shore
 
Takapuna, North Shore
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing