We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese with a beach view to die for, Takapuna”
Review of Tokyo Bay

Tokyo Bay
Reserve a table
Ranked #1 of 82 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tokyo Bay is located beachside, on Auckland's famous Takapuna Beach. Our Japanese team serve modern, not fusion, Japanese cuisine, of the highest standard.
Reviewed 13 January 2015

Tokyo Bay has only just opened, it is an absolute winner, the view over Takapuna Beach and the sailing you can see from the front seats of the restaurant are amazing.
The staff are very efficient, the menu is extensive and once selected the food quality is some of the best Japanese in Auckland. Tokyo Bay not only offers the diner a fabulous view, but a uniquely Japanese experience, combining traditional Japanese techniques with a contemporary take. You could have a casual lunch here, or a beautiful intimate dinner for two, it would cover all the reasons to go out for a meal and more. On this occasion I had a Bonito Box and each ingredient was loverly well presented and made you look for more, perfect. I will be back for more with friends as it has a loverly open welcoming feel, very different from most Japanese.

Date of visit: January 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alistair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (840)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

803 - 807 of 840 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2023
Google Translation

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2022
Google Translation

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2021
Google Translation

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 September 2020
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Tokyo Bay also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Auckland, North Island
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Tokyo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.