We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different dishes all have a delicious and different flavour”
Review of Tok Tok Kitchen

Tok Tok Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 110 Restaurants in Takapuna
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 August 2018

Saturday night - they were overbooked, but still managed to make the service friendly and the food as very good. Nice thing is that the different dishes all had unique flavours - but still to an East/West theme.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Murray_Irwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Really good food and even though they were busy, the wait line, order taking and delivery were all handled professionally and a friendly manner.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Travelkiwi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

The setting for Tok Tok is quite cool, however we just felt like we were in and out within seconds... we ordered and the food was on our table in literally less than 5 minutes and the staff just seemed as if they wanted us out. We then left and on our way home got called and told that we were given the wrong bill to pay, so they forced us to travel all the way back to Takapuna to pay! Food was average - everything just seemed very spicey...

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 83anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Celebrated a birthday here with family - brought our own cake with ($20 surcharge).

Staff sang happy birthday - nice gesture. Food portions were fairly good - a bit on the pricey side considering you gave to add another $3 for rice (too small to share quite frankly).

Not enough food options for kids. A lot of "hot" dishes which won't be suitable. Unfortunately this means we won't be back.

Good service considering how busy it was.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Jacquip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

My wife surprised me with a night out, without the kids, to Tok Tok.
A very vibrant and well set out restaurant, with great decor. I really liked the lanterns.
The friendly waitress advised us of the specials and gave us some great recommendations. We went with the Popping Prawns, Kingfish Sashimi, Shaking Beef and Green Papaya Salad. All choices were fresh and full of flavour. The sashimi was a standout and the papaya salad had a nice kick. We were happy with all our choices, and would definitely return to try out some of the other choices from the menu.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank surferdevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tok Tok Kitchen also viewed

Takapuna, North Shore
Takapuna, North Shore
 
Takapuna, North Shore
Takapuna, North Shore
 

Been to Tok Tok Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing