We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
17
21
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
21
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half moon bay busy road shower and toilet room was clean night stay comfortable stay new zealand hawick motel ferry auckland countdown hosts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Checked in with a great smile from owner. Friendly, polite. Extra towels were no problem. The room is comfortable with electric blankets and heaters. WIFI available and t.v should you need it. 10 mins away from Mission bay. Would stay again no problem.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank nzRick74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howickmotorlodge, Manager at Howick Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Hi


Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your review. We hope to see you again:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

The bed was terrible as the mattress was old and u could feel the springs when u r asleep. The motel was 1970s as it had old stuff in the room and the bathroom was really small the oven was old wouldnt b my pick of motels if I come back to Auckland again, I would go somewhere else to stay

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank chrisfH4013VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our club booked out the entire motor lodge for easter weekend. It is a basic but comfortable stay. It has virtually all the necessities required. When we did not have a few items such as a plug they were provided. Towels were replenished each day.

The setup allowed us all the freedom to move between rooms and enjoy the pool and have bring in meals around the picnic table. It was very convenient to the venue in Howick we were at. We all had a great stay!!!

Room tip: Accessibility is easier on ground floors if you have mobility issues
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenw-Wellywood2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

11 of us stayed for 2 days in January. The first day was alright. Towels were taken away for washing after the first day. On our return at about 3:00 we took a shower after a hot day. To our astonishment, there were no towels in the room & when we asked for them, we were told that the replacement set was not yet dried. Are all the used towels taken to dry every day & returned until they are dried. Could you believe this? I thought a motel should have more than enough towels to go around.
That's our first complaint.

It was terribly warm at Room #805 which is on the second floor. Our friend next door at #804 experienced the same problem. Another one at Room #803 had no fan in their room. It's unbearably hot on a hot Summer afternoon.

We were provided with a small bottle of milk on arrival. There was no more milk on any number of consecutive days. Is this a policy?

Is this a pet-friendly motel? On the second day of our stay, there were residents from a room who brought with them a big unleashed German Shepherd which almost jumped onto me. (Its owners didn't seem to care - maybe they will when something bad happens.)

Tissue box was pretty (just as the other rooms) in Room #805, but there was nothing in it for the two days of our stay.

A side issue about security. Only one key was provided for each room. My friend at Room #803 returned one day without the key which was kept by his roommate. The lady at the reception opened the door for him without even verifying the identity of my friend. That means anybody can do the same thing to get access to any of the rooms. Is this safe?

I will not consider visiting this motel again. (2/5)

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1pochette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

This is one of only two lodges within easy reach - 7 mins - of the ferry to Waiheke at Half Moon Bay

The location is fine, easy to find and off the main road

The room we occupied was basic and probably would have been designed and built in the 70s. Cleanliness and facilities need updating.

For the money, this was, frankly unacceptable and I have a personal dislike of motels that dip their prices by 30% at the last minute - guys, the price is the price!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank lesjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews