We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it! An absolute gem.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lbrpty
Leics
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it! An absolute gem.”
Reviewed 26 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The attention to detail was superb, from the initial enquiry to the day we went home.

Lovely peaceful location for children and Kei the dog, with the cottage not having passing traffic. A great place to relax and enjoy some peace and quiet, but equally good for lots of things to see and do without travelling too far.
The cake made by Terrie was divine...it was a fight for the last slice!
Wonderful holiday experience that we intend to repeat in the not too distant future. Thanks Terrie and Mick for all your hard work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning property in such a peaceful location.
Liked least: Going home again!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2011
Thanks so much for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Emily did a great job of feeding our pigs and they miss her.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Sep 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
belfast
Reviewed 18 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views were outstanding and the cottage was beautiful
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We are really glad that your family enjoyed their stay amd look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RugbyRuth...
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic!”
Reviewed 16 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We decided to stay here after reading other good reviews about this property and were so so pleased that we did. The owner was very welcoming and baked a cake for us and left us fresh eggs from her farm. The place was spotless and the owner took great pride in her work. Having a young baby the second bedroom was a huge plus for us as it meant that we did not have to sleep in the same room as him so that we got some sleep! This place would also be perfect for a family of four and the sofa bed in the living room could also be used if you have a larger family.

The setting was the best thing about the accommodation. It overlooks a peaceful field full of sheep and you can also see the local steam railway. There is a great local pub at the end of the road and Bodiam castle and access to the railway is a 5 minute walk away. Walkers would like the fact that it lies on a quiet walking track.

I really can't think of anything that lets down this property!

Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2011
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are delighted that the cottage ticked the right boxes for you and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buster85
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“BEAUTIFUL HOLIDAY LET A REAL HOME FROM HOME”
Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in August 2011

We booked a weeks stay at the Old Cricket Pavilion and we completely fell in love with it. The views were outstanding and the house was absolutely spotless. The house was extremely well equipped, anything that you would need is there. Terri really had thought of everything. On arrival there was a welcome pack with tea, coffee, fresh bread, fresh eggs from the farm and Terri had even baked a cake which was gorgeous. Prior to coming I had booked my on-line shop with Sainsbury's and Terri was there to take delivery of it and put our shopping away for us. I will definitely be booking the Old Cricket Pavilion when we next come back to England it was without a doubt one of the best holiday homes that I have ever stayed in.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing