We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot, wonderful hosts”
SeaStar Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
SeaStar Cottage
Street Entrance Roof of owner's house in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
SeaStar Cottage
Street Entrance
Roof of owner's house in the background
Rock Stairway to Access Cottage
Private post/beam covered deck
Ocean View from your Deck
Relax in the Evening by the Fire
Aaaah! So peaceful!
Sitting Room & Deck
Cosy Sitting Room
Come & Rest!
Vintage Armoire
Full kitchen
4 Piece Bathroom
Vanity complete with hair dryer
Come down the stairs past our house & find the shore!
Sit & Listen on the way!
Take time to Explore
Shore perspective at low tide
Good chance you will see these beauties at low tide
Gaze at the Sunsets!
Natural Beauty of Foxglove
New Life at our Doorstep!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Garden Bay, Sunshine Coast, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
barbara5l...
london
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely spot, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

SeaStar is a true gem. We live in London, England and it was nerve-wracking to have to choose where to stay from so many listings on the Sunshine Coast. We wanted undisturbed peace and relaxation away from busy resorts, a view of the ocean and distant islands, easy access to all the amazing experiences that the Sunshine Coast offers plus the comforts of a home-away-from-home...and that’s exactly what we experienced at SeaStar – and more! Every day of our week’s stay was special, and every evening while relaxing on the deck enjoying the firepit or stretched out flat on a lounger to stare endlessly at the stars – we reminded ourselves how lucky we were to have chosen SeaStar. Ron and Marilyn, however, are the real stars. Quite apart from the beautiful, comfortable and well-equipped SeaStar, they gave us all the privacy we wanted but when advice or help was sought, they really came through for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet of the location, beautiful decor and superb comfort.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
Thank you Barbara & Jeremy....it was a real pleasure to have guests from my family roots country! Delighted that you were so pleased with your stay here & look forward to seeing you both again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O-Sherry
British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Waterfront paradise”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We are loving our 5-night stay at SeaStar Cottage. Marilyn and Ron are excellent hosts -- warm and inviting, but then wonderfully discreet once we were settled. We are wanting for nothing, as everything we could possibly wish for has been provided. We are taking most of our meals at the table on the large covered deck. There are also very comfy chairs for lounging around the fireplace. Deck railings are clear glass, so our view isn't obstructed. We enjoy the chipmunks and squirrels who occasionally race across the edge, staying clear of us but providing a little show. The nights here are extremely black, and so we are enjoying the amazing night sky in a way we cannot do at home.

The kitchen is well supplied, and very clean and new. Actually, everything feels very new, and very upscale. The induction cooktop is very efficient, as is the large toaster oven. All the dishes etc are very well-maintained. The bathroom is similarly elegant and cozy, with a soaker tub and luxurious towels. The bedroom is romantic, with quality linens and a heavenly mattress.

We could not have picked a better location to spend our week on the Sunshine Coast, nestled amongst all the trees with accompanying wildlife. Bald eagles, songbirds, deer, a seal ... close up as though provided for our amusement. It has really been a treat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We spent most of our time on the lovely deck, overlooking the ocean.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
purplesca...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Sea Star Cottage is the perfect place for a quiet, serene, leave the city behind, kind of get-away. We spent three nights during spring break relaxing at this beautiful little cottage. Went for walks to Daniel Point and Irvine's Landing, drove around to some lakes close by, enjoyed amazing sunsets right from our deck while relaxing in the comfortable deck chairs, and listened to the many birds singing to us. We especially enjoyed the bald eagle perched high in a tree close by. Our hosts were wonderful, kind people, who met all of our needs and respected our privacy. I'm so thankful they are willing to share this little piece of heaven on earth with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: a pull out in the living room might be nice...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster
Reviewed 22 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Red Deer
Reviewed 27 June 2012 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jun 2012
Thank you so much Janelle & John! Look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing