We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Upstairs bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upstairs bedroom
Summertime at the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Upstairs bedroom
Summertime at the cottage
Cozy window seat
Upstairs bedroom and reading room/second bedroom
Upstairs
Living room
An inviting space
Claw foot bathtub and shower
Kitchen nook
Kitchen
Winter comfort
A welcome bumble bee
A lovely place to stay!
ahh...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Courtenay, Comox Valley, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
whybefly
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Visiting from California, my husband, teen-age son and I needed a place to stay for a few nights while we played in the snow on Mount Washington. When I saw this charming and immaculate cottage on Trip Advisor, I could not resist it, and it did not disappoint. The artful renovation of the old barn was clearly a labor of love. If you value details you will love this place. The bowl of fruit and fresh blueberry muffins, in addition to coffee, tea, and a fridge stocked with yogurt and half and half for coffee met all of our immediate needs upon arrival! Since we visited in the winter and there was snow, it was a super warm and cozy home to return to. The hosts were friendly and available if we needed anything. The cottage is set well behind the main house in woods. My husband called our stay a winter wonderland!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
f0xy13
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic hideaway”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Applewood Cottage in nestled in Suzanne's garden but is far enough from the main house to allow total privacy. The cottage is gorgeous- full of charm with lots of quirky features. It is really cozy and superbly equipped.
Lot's of lovely little touches and we really appreciated the fabulous muffins, fruit and fresh coffee.
The gardens are really pretty and a great place to relax with a beer in the evenings. Suzanne is an excellent host. We loved our time here. There are lots of lovely places to visit around here too and we saw plenty of wildlife- from bald eagles to bears on our days out.
Applewood Cottage is outstanding value for money - book it quick before word gets out!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen C
Bellingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Out of this World”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

By the time we arrived at Applewood Cottage we felt we had stepped back in time and arrived in a magical woodland cabin where relaxation and tranquility were our companions.
The cottage is truly bijou; on the ground floor there are windows in all the walls so you feel truly connected to the woodland setting and if you are very lucky you might just get to watch a bear picking fruit! (We missed a mummy bear and her cub by 1 day).
The cottage is beautifully presented with many fine details and individual touches - care to play a beautiful upright piano or listen to CD's of local musicians - you choose the mood and the cottage supports you.
The wood-burner fire was another delightful touch in adding to the cosy atmosphere - truly indulgent.
Applewood Cottage is a joy to the senses and comes complete with local honey; local knitwear and CD's by local musicians.
Indulge yourself and be refreshed!
(For anyone who has read 'The Specialist' by Charles Sale - the cottage has a beautiful outdoor WC . . . )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: not seeing a bear
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KittyGP
Tillicoultry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A beautiful little converted barn with such attention to detail. A quiet, peaceful piece of paradise. Suzanne is a lovely lady who has an artistic streak in her. You can tell by the decor in and outside of the cottage. Colourful rugs, cushions and retro furniture, homemade honey and knitted woolens for sale. A wood burning stove, roll-top bath, piano and various cd's for you to choose from. Books to read and on arrival Suzanne had left some lovely homemade muffins and grapes picked from her garden. We would highly recommend this picturesque little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style, peacefulness and comfort of the place
Liked least: We were not able to use the wood burner at that time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and quiet
Liked least: The old fashioned tub was very narrow and hard to stand in for a shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing