We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
345
49
12
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
49
12
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cedar room the main street off street parking sitting room old house heritage home within walking distance owners and staff perfect location top floor boutique hotel great hosts place to stay full kitchen downtown area fantastic stay one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We had heard that the Cloudside Hotel was the best place to stay in Nelson. We were not disappointed. The owners and staff are wonderful people and enhanced the visit. The hotel is a block away from the main street, yet is quiet and seems far removed. The rooms (we stayed in the Sycamore) are very clean and beautifully decorated. There are lovely sitting areas outside and many interesting pieces of art throughout the hotel. We would and will be highly recommending this incredible find to friends and family.

Room tip: Sycamore and Willow are wonderful rooms with king beds.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you so much Ted, it was really our pleasure to have you to stay. Thank you for the old Nelson photo's you sent, I'm so happy you managed to do the Pulpit Rock hike. We do hope we might see you again if you come back this way.

Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We had a great stay at Cloudside. Chris, the owner, checked us in and was the ultimate host throughout our stay, very welcoming, hospitable, and giving us suggestions on where to explore. We had the Tamarack room on the 3rd floor and it was fantastic with a beautiful view of the lake. The unit was big enough for 4 people (2 queen beds in separate areas), it had a fully stocked kitchen, it was tastefully decorated and the bed was very comfortable. It is just a block off the main downtown street so it was a perfect location to just wander out the front or back door and head off exploring. Onsite parking was just out the back door and super convenient also. The back deck looked very inviting but unfortunately it was a little cold for us in October to sit outside. All in all, a great place to stay and if we ever come back, Cloudside will be our first choice.

Room tip: Tamarack room was great. Wonderful view of the lake.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laurel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you Laurel, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay,and really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I hope you had a safe journey home.
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay in Nelson and Cloudline was the perfect accomodation. Wish we had more time here.
Beautiful big comfortable bed. Really friendly and helpful host. Great proximity to town but quiet as well. Highly recommend a stay - 5 stars.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you Camilla S, we are so happy you enjoyed our little hotel and lovely town. It sounds like maybe you need to come back another day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Cloudside is a gem, within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants. The staff are very kind and hospitable. We loved the heritage feel of the hotel and appreciated how immaculately clean everything was. There is a roomy deck accessible from the upper floor where we enjoyed sitting with our glass of wine before dinner. I would gladly recommend Cloudside Hotel to anyone.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank fayea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you Faye...we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

The Cloudside Hotel was a great decision for us. One street away from all the shopping and wonderful restaurants in town. The historic building suited us as we had a bedroom, sitting room, and a small sunroom. The staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly. Would recommend this to anyone who asks.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PSiemens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you so much for the amazing review Peter, it really was a pleasure to meet you both. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. We do hope we might see you again, if you come back to Nelson.
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews