We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cosy getaway cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage The original gritstone cheese press
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Sitting Room with wood-burning stove
Cheese Press Cottage
The original gritstone cheese press
Sitting Room
Wood-burning stove
Kitchen area
Fully equipped kitchen with granite worktops
Dining area
Pine table in the Sitting Room
Set for dinner
Bedroom
Antique double bed
Bathroom with basin, loo, bath & shower
Enjoy the spectacular views over the fields
Patio
Views overlooking Biggin Dale from the cottage
Another view from Cheese Press Cottage
Enjoy watching the cows grazing in the fields from the cottage
Park your car next to the cottage
All-weather tennis court
Monastic Barn which dates back from the 13th Century is where the property began
Cheese Press Cottage
Cheese Press Cottage is a converted barn in the grounds of our home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert H
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cosy getaway cottage”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Came here with my partner for a winter break in the Peaks. Great accommodation, clean, cosy and well equipped. It was exactly what we were looking for. Jane was a great host and the biscuits on arrival were much appreciated.

Location was great for exploring, Bakewell and Buxton not far and Chatsworth House in easy driving distance. Walks in the local area were fantastic, amazing scenery on the doorstep and the maps provided by Jane were very useful! Already recommending this place to others who are looking for a break in England.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. So pleased you had a nice break in the Peak District. It is so cosy in the winter months with the wood-burner so do come back again! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Dec 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad the cookies went down well! It is a lovely cottage to relax in and I am glad you had a nice few days. Come back and see us again! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: the weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Nov 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you so much. I am so glad you are all booked in for next year. It is such a sweet cottage and perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views over Biggin Dale. Look forward to seeing you in 2015! jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dr002jy
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fairytale cottage with excellent service”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

It doesn't get more charming than this. The cottage is just adorable. Comfortable modern fittings in the kitchen and bathroom (with a bath, not just a shower stall). The place was shining when we stepped in - it was so clean. The original cheese press is a gorgeous little feature. Local butchers and grocers in Ahsbourne nearby. I went for a walk on my own and it was lovely too.

Perhaps the best thing about it is the details and service: cotton swabs, luxury soap and shampoo, shower cap, candles, cling film, olive oil, etc were all provided when we arrived. Jane is incredibly helpful and came over to help us start the fire (she's a pro) when we had trouble.

The only small "warning" is that the best is a very small double, so if you are tall, perhaps you're better off contacting Jane beforehand as she has other cottages with bigger beds! My boyfriend and I are quite small and we still found the bed a "cosy" squeeze.

Definitely would visit again. Thanks Jane!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: The tiny bed :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2014
It was lovely to meet you both and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your weekend at Cheese Press Cottage. Do come back and see us again when you need a few days away from London and try one of the other cottages! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Nov 2014
I'm pleased you had a nice couple of days and thanks for taking the time to write a review for the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing