We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zest Food Tours of Auckland

Zest Food Tours of Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience gourmet walking tours in Auckland with the highly regarded Zest Food Tours. Sightseeing with great food and a friendly knowledgeable tour guide, Zest tours are a great introduction to the food, culture and sights of the city. 'A real hit with foodies' (2010 Frommer's Guide). Zest tours take you to taste the best food and meet the passionate producers behind them, at places the locals know and love, in small exclusive groups. ....because the best way to discover a new place and its culture is through its food & wine.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming and Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2016

We met with Leigh (Lee?) promptly at 9:30 at the iSite near our hotel and we only had one other couple in our group! We got to have delicious coffee and macaroons at The Store in the Britomart area. I was delighted with how Kiwis do coffee, which is fresh ground diluted espresso versus filtered drip coffee in the states! For my non coffee drinking husband they were super accommodating with a hand crafted warm apple cinnamon soda! He loved it! our tour guide then showed us a multitude of excellent options for our future meals on our way to the Kapiti store where we enjoyed stunning cheeses from NZ milks and creams! We liked these products so much that we made it a point to hike it back here so we could take some of our favorites back to the states with the carry bag and freezer packs that the shop sells as well as the discount they offer to folks who took the tour. We also got to enjoy fejioa flavored sorbet which was a treat as it's only recently and briefly in season! We then got to check out the Queen's arcade and learn about possum fur and the delicious chocolates of Devonport! We then went back over towards the harbor and popped into Comvita honey to learn about NZ's medicinal honeys and their benefits! We ended up bringing some of this home from duty free in NZ but the price bumped from $NZD 77 to about $AUD100 once we got to the Sydney airport and when we looked it up on amazon, the same product was about $USD45 dollars, as a reference. Then we went deeper into the harbor and got to see the beautiful fresh catches in the fish market! These were some of the healthiest and prettiest fish I had ever seen! We then got to enjoy a spot to eat together and Lee provided us with information on the things we had seen and places we had mentioned. The group made a decision at the beginning of the tour to pass on a gift shop that should have been a part of the tour for the purpose of enjoying the more food-centric options and we had lovely chats together! Overall a great way to introduce us to Auckland!!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank helloabbygail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time out to give us such a comprehensive feedback on your recent Auckland City Tastes tour with us. We are glad you enjoyed your time with our fabulous guide, Leigh taking in a selection from our ever evolving itinerary. We love to show our visitors to Auckland the many hidden gems they may never encounter otherwise.
Thanks again and take care.

Kind regards
Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ponsonby Delights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2016

We were thrilled to spend time with the delightful and knowledgable Joanna exploring the charming area of Ponsonby. While the food was the focus, the architecture and history of the area, as explained by Joanna added to the complete experience. It would be remiss not to mention Milly's Kitchen Shop, a must for every cook! The itinerary was varied and comprehensive. Very good value for money. An excellent and enjoyable way to see an area of Auckland a visitor could sadly miss.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
Thank you very much for your very kind and generous feedback. Yes we pride ourselves on helping visitors discover the many and varied great food spots around the city they would otherwise miss out on.
Thanks again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great introduction to Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2016

Joanna was a fascinating guide, taking us through the Ponsonby neighborhood. Beautiful day, great food and a fun guide.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 17 April 2016
Thanks for your time to send in your feedback from your Urban Village Delights tour with us. Joanna loves to show off her neighbourhood to our visitors and share the many hard to find food and shopping spots off the beaten track.
Take care and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Aukland City Tastes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2016

Helen, our guide, is a treasure. She introduced us to not only the spectacular variety of special food Aukland has to offer but, also, the unique neighbourhoods and honest friendliness of Kiwi's!

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank toony2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 13 January 2016
Thanks very much for taking the time to send your feedback on your recent Auckland City Tastes tour with us. Our guide, Helen was so pleased to hear your great comments and happy to hear you enjoyed the tour so much. Thanks again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“flexible, responsive, knowledgeable, fun, good company, great location and excellent coffee andfood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2016

Our travel agent had failed to tell Zest we were arriving on a cruise ship, and the day before the tour we contacted Zest and they immediately arranged to meet our ship with a taxi to accommodate our group of five and take us to Ponsonby Street (and after the tour back to the ship) at their expense. The CEO of the company took us on the walk along Ponsoby Street where we had coffee and cakes, met shop, cafe, restaurant, and market place foodies - owners and had plenty of time to browse the many delightful buildings and places along the way. Our guide was exceptional as an informed source, professional host and fun person to spend the tour with and as a luncheon companion.
Certainly a lovely and enjoyable way to see this delightful part of Auckland. Highly recommended to tourists and foodies alike.

Visited January 2016
Helpful?
Thank lucymillie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 6 January 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to send in your feedback from our Urban Village Delights tour.
This was such a kind and generous response, it made my day! We always try and smooth out any curve balls for our guests so I'm glad we were able to provide such an enjoyable experience for you.
Thanks again and Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zest Food Tours of Auckland also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Zest Food Tours of Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing