We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Eat Breakfast...a tour sampling amazing food in a lovely area with a knowledgable tour guide”

Zest Food Tours of Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience gourmet walking tours in Auckland with the highly regarded Zest Food Tours. Sightseeing with great food and a friendly knowledgeable tour guide, Zest tours are a great introduction to the food, culture and sights of the city. 'A real hit with foodies' (2010 Frommer's Guide). Zest tours take you to taste the best food and meet the passionate producers behind them, at places the locals know and love, in small exclusive groups. ....because the best way to discover a new place and its culture is through its food & wine.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Eat Breakfast...a tour sampling amazing food in a lovely area with a knowledgable tour guide”
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This tour covered all of the right things for me including the three big C's - cheese, chocolate and coffee. The tour was informative not just about the food offerings in the area but provided insight into it's history and interesting architectural finds. I recommend this tour for those who enjoy food...therefore anyone. My highlight was our lunch at the lovely Ponsonby Road Bistro and their attentive and knowledgable staff.

Visited March 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Mix_Express
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent Urban Village Delights tour with us. Our team of local guides enjoy showcasing our great food lovers precincts and I will pass on your kind feedback to our partners at Ponsonby Rd Bistro who will be delighted to hear your positive comments.
Thanks again and take care.
Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walking Tasting Fun”
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We did the Urban Village Delights walking tour in Auckland. Our guide, Joanna, was friendly, knowledgeable, and delightful to spend time with as she took us around the Ponsonby neighborhood. Several stops to relax and taste/drink the local flavors (coffee, chocolates, cheese, pizza, etc) and ending with a light lunch with wine. We also made a few stops at some of the local shops which were fun to poke about in. Joanna indulged all of our questions and always with a smile. What makes the whole experience is the small size of the group (just 4)! We had a great time. Thank you!

Visited February 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 11 March 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to send in your comments about your recent tour with us.We were glad to hear you enjoyed your time with our guide, Joanna who loves to show off her neighbourhood to visitors.We do pride ourselves on the intimacy and special attention our small groups provide so appreciated your feedback.
Thanks again and take care.
Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First thing you should do when you arrive to Auckland!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 via mobile

Lynda took me for a wonderful gourmet walking tour of Auckland. This tour is fit for foodies- fine coffee and chocolates, local artisanal cheeses, ice cream, local honey, and we finished with a platter of local seafood and a glass of wine. She pointed out all of the best neighborhoods and restaurants for dining, and made some fabulous recommendations - thus the need to do this tour first, so that you will know where the best places to go to during your visit. She also made recommendations for other touring ideas in the area.
She arranged to have a bag of coffee beans delivered to my hotel when we weren't able to locate them during the tour (above and beyond!). I was also given a "cheat sheet" afterwards with a summary of all of the recommendations and sources, as well as some recipes. I really enjoyed her lively narrative and her friendly manner - very professional! Do this tour!

Visited February 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank jackzvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 19 February 2015
Thanks very much for taking the time to send us your review of your recent Auckland City Tastes tour. We appreciate your great feedback and yes we are very lucky to have such friendly and knowledgeable guides on our team who love to offer suggestions of things to do while visiting our city and helping out where possible.Lynda will be delighted to receive your feedback! We agree too that our tours are an excellent way to get your bearings of the city when you first arrive.
Thanks again and take care.
Regards
Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Urban Food Tour of Ponsonby”
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Hi, Just wanted to say a massive thank you to Joanna who led us on our food tour last week. We thoroughly enjoyed the morning. the other reviews were correct in saying that you don't need to eat breakfast before going on it! The history of the area was fascinating and Joanna was great company. The food was amazing, choccies, cheese, pizza and coffee and lamingtons followed by a fantastic light lunch of pork belly and terakihi....excellent. would certainly recommend....see you again sometime! Lindsay and Mum :)

Visited January 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your recent Urban Village Delights tour with us. We appreciate your positive feedback which I will pass on to our guide , Joanna who loves to share her neighbourhood's foodie highlights and culture with our visitors to Auckland.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards
Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Urban Village Delights”
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Early January my husband and I were escorted on a great tour of Ponsonby Rd Auckland. Joanna, our tour guide was very knowledgable about the history of the area and its food and beverages. She explained every thing in an interesting and relaxed manner and encouraged easy mixing with the other 3 participants, an Australian and two Germans who also seemed to get a lot out of it.

The mixture of foodie places and shops was well balanced, starting with a lovely coffee and muffin and then lots of interesting nibbles like chocolate and pizza on the way. The light two course lunch at a nice restaurant was very pleasant despite the veal scallapinie being a bit too salty.

Maybe a little wine more tasting to complement our lunch courses could have been offered? However our tour did last about four hours, with our guide happily doing 'overtime' at the restaurant so I guess the tour couldn't have fitted in much else. Everyone is given the option of staying on, under their own steam, after the lunch anyway.

Visited January 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this review, 2 February 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to send in your feedback and kind words from your recent Urban Village Delights tour with us.We have taken on board your suggestions and appreciate your positive comments. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards
Kerry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zest Food Tours of Auckland also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Muriwai Beach, Auckland Region
Mission Bay, Auckland Region
 

Been to Zest Food Tours of Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing