We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zest Food Tours of Auckland - CLOSED
Save
Review Highlights
Walking in the Rain

Enjoyed a fun, informative food tour despite the pouring rain. Our guide, Liz, was such a joy to... read more

Reviewed 5 April 2017
beezerTn
,
TN
Charming and Delicious!

We met with Leigh (Lee?) promptly at 9:30 at the iSite near our hotel and we only had one other... read more

Reviewed 14 April 2016
helloabbygail
,
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Read all 43 reviews
  
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
38
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
38
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2015

We did the Urban Village Delights walking tour in Auckland. Our guide, Joanna, was friendly, knowledgeable, and delightful to spend time with as she took us around the Ponsonby neighborhood. Several stops to relax and taste/drink the local flavors (coffee, chocolates, cheese, pizza, etc) and ending with a light lunch with wine. We also made a few stops at some of the local shops which were fun to poke about in. Joanna indulged all of our questions and always with a smile. What makes the whole experience is the small size of the group (just 4)! We had a great time. Thank you!

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank 799DavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015

Thanks very much for taking the time to send in your comments about your recent tour with us.We were glad to hear you enjoyed your time with our guide, Joanna who loves to show off her neighbourhood to visitors.We do pride ourselves on the intimacy and special attention our small groups provide so appreciated your feedback.
Thanks again and take care.
Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Lynda took me for a wonderful gourmet walking tour of Auckland. This tour is fit for foodies- fine coffee and chocolates, local artisanal cheeses, ice cream, local honey, and we finished with a platter of local seafood and a glass of wine. She pointed out all of the best neighborhoods and restaurants for dining, and made some fabulous recommendations - thus the need to do this tour first, so that you will know where the best places to go to during your visit. She also made recommendations for other touring ideas in the area.
She arranged to have a bag of coffee beans delivered to my hotel when we weren't able to locate them during the tour (above and beyond!). I was also given a "cheat sheet" afterwards with a summary of all of the recommendations and sources, as well as some recipes. I really enjoyed her lively narrative and her friendly manner - very professional! Do this tour!

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank jackzvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2015

Thanks very much for taking the time to send us your review of your recent Auckland City Tastes tour. We appreciate your great feedback and yes we are very lucky to have such friendly and knowledgeable guides on our team who love to offer suggestions of things to do while visiting our city and helping out where possible.Lynda will be delighted to receive your feedback! We agree too that our tours are an excellent way to get your bearings of the city when you first arrive.
Thanks again and take care.
Regards
Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Hi, Just wanted to say a massive thank you to Joanna who led us on our food tour last week. We thoroughly enjoyed the morning. the other reviews were correct in saying that you don't need to eat breakfast before going on it! The history of the area was fascinating and Joanna was great company. The food was amazing, choccies, cheese, pizza and coffee and lamingtons followed by a fantastic light lunch of pork belly and terakihi....excellent. would certainly recommend....see you again sometime! Lindsay and Mum :)

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your recent Urban Village Delights tour with us. We appreciate your positive feedback which I will pass on to our guide , Joanna who loves to share her neighbourhood's foodie highlights and culture with our visitors to Auckland.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards
Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Early January my husband and I were escorted on a great tour of Ponsonby Rd Auckland. Joanna, our tour guide was very knowledgable about the history of the area and its food and beverages. She explained every thing in an interesting and relaxed manner and encouraged easy mixing with the other 3 participants, an Australian and two Germans who also seemed to get a lot out of it.

The mixture of foodie places and shops was well balanced, starting with a lovely coffee and muffin and then lots of interesting nibbles like chocolate and pizza on the way. The light two course lunch at a nice restaurant was very pleasant despite the veal scallapinie being a bit too salty.

Maybe a little wine more tasting to complement our lunch courses could have been offered? However our tour did last about four hours, with our guide happily doing 'overtime' at the restaurant so I guess the tour couldn't have fitted in much else. Everyone is given the option of staying on, under their own steam, after the lunch anyway.

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to send in your feedback and kind words from your recent Urban Village Delights tour with us.We have taken on board your suggestions and appreciate your positive comments. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards
Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014

After reading reviews prior to booking we had high expectations - and were not disappointed! As a small group of 5 we braved a rainy, cool morning with our guide. As a long time resident of Ponsonby, Joanna provided great historical references to our walk and was friendly and engaging throughout. In addition Joanna also introduced us to a couple of unique shops that were not "food tastings". The tour was as advertised and more. Although we initially felt the tour cost was high we were pleasantly surprised that after 3 hours of "tasting" and a light lunch we were more than happy we chose to do it. All in all, it was a lovely introduction to an area we likely would not have found on our own. Highly recommend it! Just make sure you leave room for tasting!

Date of experience: November 2014
2  Thank SonyaB263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thanks very much for taking the time to send in your feedback on your Urban Village Delights tour. We appreciate the generous comments and glad to hear you enjoyed it and found it good value as well.
Thanks again
Take care
Kind regards
Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews