We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Food Tour of Ponsonby”
Review of Zest Food Tours of Auckland - CLOSED

Zest Food Tours of Auckland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience gourmet walking tours in Auckland with the highly regarded Zest Food Tours. Sightseeing with great food and a friendly knowledgeable tour guide, Zest tours are a great introduction to the food, culture and sights of the city. 'A real hit with foodies' (2010 Frommer's Guide). Zest tours take you to taste the best food and meet the passionate producers behind them, at places the locals know and love, in small exclusive groups. ....because the best way to discover a new place and its culture is through its food & wine.
Reviewed 1 February 2015

Hi, Just wanted to say a massive thank you to Joanna who led us on our food tour last week. We thoroughly enjoyed the morning. the other reviews were correct in saying that you don't need to eat breakfast before going on it! The history of the area was fascinating and Joanna was great company. The food was amazing, choccies, cheese, pizza and coffee and lamingtons followed by a fantastic light lunch of pork belly and terakihi....excellent. would certainly recommend....see you again sometime! Lindsay and Mum :)

1  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on your recent Urban Village Delights tour with us. We appreciate your positive feedback which I will pass on to our guide , Joanna who loves to share her neighbourhood's foodie highlights and culture with our visitors to Auckland.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards
Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

13 - 17 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2015

Early January my husband and I were escorted on a great tour of Ponsonby Rd Auckland. Joanna, our tour guide was very knowledgable about the history of the area and its food and beverages. She explained every thing in an interesting and relaxed manner and encouraged easy mixing with the other 3 participants, an Australian and two Germans who also seemed to get a lot out of it.

The mixture of foodie places and shops was well balanced, starting with a lovely coffee and muffin and then lots of interesting nibbles like chocolate and pizza on the way. The light two course lunch at a nice restaurant was very pleasant despite the veal scallapinie being a bit too salty.

Maybe a little wine more tasting to complement our lunch courses could have been offered? However our tour did last about four hours, with our guide happily doing 'overtime' at the restaurant so I guess the tour couldn't have fitted in much else. Everyone is given the option of staying on, under their own steam, after the lunch anyway.

1  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to send in your feedback and kind words from your recent Urban Village Delights tour with us.We have taken on board your suggestions and appreciate your positive comments. So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Thanks again and take care.
Kind regards
Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2014

After reading reviews prior to booking we had high expectations - and were not disappointed! As a small group of 5 we braved a rainy, cool morning with our guide. As a long time resident of Ponsonby, Joanna provided great historical references to our walk and was friendly and engaging throughout. In addition Joanna also introduced us to a couple of unique shops that were not "food tastings". The tour was as advertised and more. Although we initially felt the tour cost was high we were pleasantly surprised that after 3 hours of "tasting" and a light lunch we were more than happy we chose to do it. All in all, it was a lovely introduction to an area we likely would not have found on our own. Highly recommend it! Just make sure you leave room for tasting!

2  Thank SonyaB263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Thanks very much for taking the time to send in your feedback on your Urban Village Delights tour. We appreciate the generous comments and glad to hear you enjoyed it and found it good value as well.
Thanks again
Take care
Kind regards
Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014

My friend and I - a 'private' tour for two which is not what I had booked but how it worked out for which I am very grateful - had the most wonderful morning visiting Auckland 'foodie' spots on the City tour with our lovely guide. We started with a great coffee and treats and ended with a fish platter and wine and in between tasted cheese and chocolate and ice-cream and honey and had a generally decadent time. It was a fabulous morning - a birthday present for my friend - and our morning could not have been better.Thank you Zest!

2  Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Thanks very much for taking the time to comment on the Auckland City Tastes tour you took with us recently.We appreciate your generous feedback which I will pass on to our guide who will be thrilled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014


We met our delightful guide, Louise, at the iSite, only steps away from the ship's dock. She is a bubbly and vivacious person who knows her city and loves meeting new people.

We began by walking to a small coffee shop for a coffee and a chance to review our itinerary. This was a small tour group - three of us and Louise! The other prson, in addition to Bonnie and me, was a young lady. The four of us got along quite well.

After coffee we went to a cheese shop for a tasting of local cheeses. We tried eight different cheeses! The shop also uses the same source for its ice cream, so, of course, we had to have tasting of several of those. They also make a killer grilled cheese sandwich which they inisted we all try. Ummmm!

Then on to the chocolate shop. We were given a tasting of both chocolate candies and a rich, buttery hot chocolate. Delicious! All the while we were walking to our various destinations, Louise kept up a running commentary on the architecture, history, and details of the area we were in.

We wound our way back to the waterfront and headed to the fish market. We love fish markets! OK, so we might be a little strange, but fish markets give one a real sense of how the locals live and shop. After browsing both the whole fish side of the market and the filet side - rather unusual compared to European markets, we sat down to a lunch platter of fish and shellfish cooked straight of the boats.

That was our extended morning and we finished up just after 1:00 PM, plenty of time for shopping and returning to the cheese shop for a full dish of ice cream for dessert.

We recommend this tour for anyone who only has limited time in Auckland.

2  Thank Ed_and_Bonnie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestAuckland, Director at Zest Food Tours of Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thanks very much for your review of our Auckland City Tastes tour and kind words for Louise which I have passed on. Our guides love to share their passion and knowledge with guests and take them to the best foodie spots often hidden away from the main thoroughfare.I'm glad you agree on the grilled cheese treats, judged recently the best he had tasted from a New Yorker so that's high praise indeed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zest Food Tours of Auckland also viewed

Waitakere City, Auckland
Warkworth, Auckland
 
Matakana, Auckland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing