We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family activity”

Puhoi River Canoe Hire Ltd Kayak Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer a safe leisurely kayak/canoe adventure paddling along the Puhoi River which meanders 8km (2hrs) from the historic Bohemian Puhoi Village to the scenic Wenderholm Regional Park. We supply superior kayaks,buoyancy aids, paddling instruction and courtesy shuttle return for drivers to collect cars. We have kayaks or canoes to suit the whole family and cater to almost all ages and fitness levels. Sorry no children under 3yrs. Bookings Essential.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Family activity”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Kathy and Cody our hosts were excellent!! Genuine friendly Kiwis to the core. The Kayaking was a lot of fun and good for confidence building for my 3 kids I was with - who really enjoyed it. I would recommend this to any families that want some quality time together.
Many thanks Kathy and Cody for a special day. Cheers, Alan H

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank alhutch2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Me and my partner did an 8 km kayaking in about 2 hours and we loved it! the family that runs it are very nice and helpful and explained everything really well.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimba2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serene and inspirational kayaking”
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Our family of five enjoyed an 8 kilometer kayaking trip down the Puhoi river to where it flows into the estuary downstream.
As a grandmother, I was reluctant to join my children and grandsons for 8 kilometers of kayaking. Because we went with the tide with a bit of wind helping us move along, we paddled for awhile then rested as we slowly moved along enjoying the scenery including a heron, pukeko, ducks, cows and sheep.
Two hours of serenity and bliss engulfed us in our kayaks as we quietly drifted to our destination where we hopped into a van which took us back to our car.
Those of us who used sunscreen liberally were fine, however, a few who

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, NZ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great experience ”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Did this yesterday as a family of 5 - kids 13, 11 and 7. 13 year old in a single kayak and the rest of us in two double kayaks.

Great trip, very friendly staff/hosts. Nice thing to do around the Auckland area when visiting.

8km, but not hard work given you're going with the outgoing tide. Double kayaks also very easy to steer.

Definitely recommend.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank GizzyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The kayaking was awesome. We took it really easy and by the end I felt more like I'd had two hours of relaxation and meditation than exercise. Because you can go at whatever pace you choose though you could take a more vigorous approach to paddling if that's what you wanted. It was lovely to see so much birdlife and varied scenery, from native bush to rolling farmland. Our experience with the company was excellent. It's a very relaxed and friendly team but they're incredibly well organised and have a good focus on safety and making sure you have everything you need to have an enjoyable trip.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
2 Thank RoloNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puhoi River Canoe Hire Ltd Kayak Trips also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Red Beach, Auckland Region
 

Been to Puhoi River Canoe Hire Ltd Kayak Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing