We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas function for work- great fun”

Puhoi River Canoe Hire Ltd Kayak Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer a safe leisurely kayak/canoe adventure paddling along the Puhoi River which meanders 8km (2hrs) from the historic Bohemian Puhoi Village to the scenic Wenderholm Regional Park. We supply superior kayaks,buoyancy aids, paddling instruction and courtesy shuttle return for drivers to collect cars. We have kayaks or canoes to suit the whole family and cater to almost all ages and fitness levels. Sorry no children under 3yrs. Bookings Essential.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Barcelona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Christmas function for work- great fun”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

25 of us set off last week for a 2 hour(ish), 8 -10km paddle down Puhoi River from Puhoi to Wendoholm. It was a great activity for all fitness and confidence levels. Double kayaks were available for those who wanted to work together, or talk on the leisurely trip or who lacked fitness and needed to pair up with someone. Others who wanted to go fast or liked their independence could go solo.
The briefing was quick and thorough, the life jackets In Good condition and the pick up at the other end was smooth.
Some of us who wanted to go a bit further paddled up a side stream for about a km and saw shag and other birds. It was a pleasant detour.
Staff swam on arrival or relaxed in the sun.
The wind was quite strong at one point but manageable.
All in all it was a really fun outing and thoroughly enjoyed by all

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandalz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic paddle adventure”
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Spent the afternoon with a group of six ageing from 12-60 and had a fantastic time. The 8km route allowed for all skill levels and fitness types and by flowing along with the tide going out everyone was able to enjoy the day.
By the time we hit Wenderholm Park everyone felt that they had a good workout and some solid sight seeing of NZ.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orewa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas company activity”
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive about doing kayaking with my work for our Christmas activity. But despite this I thoroughly enjoyed it. I was in a double kayak with my work colleague. Kathy was amazing. Highly recommend this. Didn't even get my feet wet.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank WATSOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“simply stunning”
Reviewed 19 November 2016

what an amazing day this was - we hired a Canadian canoe in preparation for our adventure in December on the Whanganui River - this experience gave us the perfect conditions to get used to an unfamiliar vessel, varied temperatures and tides ... just amazing - very helpful hosts who answered all our questions - thank you for the ride back to the start point - greatly appreciated - recommend to all -

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank 67arda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great,active few hours”
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I visited with my partner and only gave Kathy (owner) very short notice. Luckily it was mid week and not school holidays so she was able to fit us in.
Very welcoming and accommodating. Sunscreen available to apply and great explanation of the route with a map and pics to help. We hired 2 single canoes ($50 each) and had a great just over 2 hours exploring the river. we had the tide on our side so not too much struggling with the paddles. Some of it is along the highway so is a bit noisy but very peaceful once you get away from there. Lots of wildlife to see along the way. Very efficient pick up service after texting her to say we had arrived at the other end. Overall a fun, relaxing few hours, Thanks Puhoi River Canoe Hire (Kathy & Cody).

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank RachBrucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puhoi River Canoe Hire Ltd Kayak Trips also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Warkworth, Auckland Region
 
Red Beach, Auckland Region
 

Been to Puhoi River Canoe Hire Ltd Kayak Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing