We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Perfect Bucket List Trip

First Light Travel planned the perfect trip for our first visit to long-om-our-bucket-list New... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Lynn P
,
Chicago, Illinois
Great Experience and Great Job on all our Bookings for New Zealand!

Highest of praise for FirstLight Travel (FLT) an incredible team and Natalie, who put together a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Hamiltoncs
,
Anchorage, Alaska
Read all 281 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Auckland
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
266
5
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
266
5
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive south island cradle mountain new zealand perfect trip travel consultant final itinerary great itinerary gordon river cruise transalpine train port arthur whole month milford sound cruise dream holiday activities planned week honeymoon whale watching
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2024

We had a trip of a lifetime. We had an idea of the highlights we wanted to see and First Light put them all together with excellent excursions and places to stay. The plan worked like clockwork with expert, reliable vendors and a perfect pace of things to do and time to relax and be spontaneous. Their knowledge of NZ was indispensable.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

We had a wonderful time in New Zealand thanks to the expert travel planning & activity curation of First Light New Zealand. Katarina was extremely professional but friendly and we felt taken care of even before we landed making this trip the most stress-free in terms of day to day despite it being halfway around the world & all the complexities that can come with different time zones. We had a wonderful time exploring the beautiful landscapes and wildlife of New Zealand. We especially enjoyed the activities and accommodations you arranged for us, such as the helicopter ride over the glaciers, relaxing coastal Kaikora & stunning Queenstown & small towns near by. Thank you again Katarina & First Light Travel.

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank CaliSAAnga
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

First Light Travel (Danielle) did an amazing job of planning our trip just like we wanted and then paying attention to every detail to make it all happen smoothly. Their choices of places to stay, activities and suggestions were all great and for a very affordable price. Wonderful vacation!

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2024

We worked with Natalie te Dorsthorst who was great. She saved our butts by pointing us away from my original idea of renting one car in Aukland and crossing the ferry to the southern Island and then back. Once in NZ you will quickly hear that this is not reliable with weather and rough seas. So, we flew.
My suggestion for those considering a long trip to NZ (it takes a good long trip to see both islands) is to look at the 46 day trip on the First Light site. We trimmed it down to 35 days and Natale and the team easily customized it to our preferences and time allotment, even though we were only weeks out .
Some other learnings:
Early in the year gets you ahead of the crowds so start in January. Having said that the only place that really seemed crowded with tourists was Queensland. But we stayed above town in a hotel with stunning views that made us stay on our balcony until after dark both nights.
Driving in NZ is not a cruise control mindless run between cities. There are only multilane roads on the outer parts of large cities. Roads are in good condition but can have multiple single lane bridges. No problem but be prepared.
Another interesting observation is that bars don’t typically have bar stools. You take your beverage and go sit elsewhere. No issue, just different for Americans.
Things to definitely keep in your itinerary: Doubtful Sound overnight boat cruise. Mnt Cook Visit. Both are a must do.
If you need to make it a shorter trip, choose the Sothern Island if you want the best Mnt scenery and outdoor adventures. If tropical is your thing, head to the Bay of Islands at the top of the North Island.
Natalie and the team are great to work with and put together a 5 week itinerary that went off without a glitch. 5 weeks without a glitch is not easy!

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank Companion47037249173
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024

Our group of four couples has a marvelous time! Our 14 night itinerary included 4 days on the north island and the rest down south. We drove two four seater rental vehicles, moving every 1 to 4 nights. So much to see and do!! Loved every minute and hope to return within a couple of years. We will definitely use First Light Travel (Katerina) again!!

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews