We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing trip

Amazing experience with Danielle! We started in Fiji, then went to Queenstown, Ray's Peak, fox... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Dreamer05697392902
NZ North & South Scenic Trip - Cyril & Gowri

Our sincere thank you to Firstlight Travel for the awesome trip from Auckland to Rotorua and from... read more

Reviewed 17 May 2024
cyrilanandan
,
Klang, Malaysia
Read all 278 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Auckland
from $370.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
from $175.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
263
5
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
263
5
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive south island cradle mountain new zealand perfect trip travel consultant final itinerary great itinerary gordon river cruise transalpine train port arthur whole month milford sound cruise dream holiday activities planned week honeymoon whale watching
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2024

My brother and I had been dreaming of a trip to NZ for 15+ years. I contacted First Light Travel since all the reviews were so good. I can't even express how much we enjoyed this trip. Micala and Ashlee designed an unforgettable trip. They listened to all our wishes and requirements and were so patient and professional. Everything went perfectly and we will always keep those memories in our hearts. I will definitely contact them in the future, no other travel agency will design my trips overseas but First Light Travel. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Date of experience: December 2023
1  Thank Navigator34796023328
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024

Had an amazing time on our trip to New Zealand! First Light travel did an awesome job at setting up our trip. They worked with us to customize a trip based on what we wanted and took care of all of the hard work of setting everything up and booking everything.

Date of experience: December 2023
1  Thank Trek27659759076
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024

We had an incredible experience working with First Light Travel. The 3 week itinerary was detailed, precise, and completely tailored to what we were looking for in our North and South Island Adventures. Michelle, our agent was excellent and extremely responsive. We had an epic adventure thanks to her and her team - would highly recommend to anyone who is planning a trip to NZ. Some notable experiences - Michelle booked us for a lakeview room in Queenstown on new years eve - we watched the fireworks from our balcony! We did an overnight Cruise on Doubtful Sound - caught and had the freshest lobster we have ever eaten. Michelle booked us for a glacier boat tour on the Tasman Glacial Lake in Mt. Cook National Park - we touched some of the icebergs! Overall an incredible experience thanks to First Light Travel. Thank you Michelle and your team!

Date of experience: December 2023
1  Thank pakeezaa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2024 via mobile

We’re just back (Dec 2023) from a trip that included a three week self-drive, mostly through New Zealand’s South Island, organized by First Light Travel. For many years, while travelling the world, we’ve wanted to explore New Zealand. And we couldn’t be more pleased with the results from First Light, especially Danielle, our travel advisor there. In fact, they exceeded our expectations! It was a perfect trip for we 70-year-olds to celebrate our 45th anniversary.

Danielle began our interaction by asking what we enjoy, activity-wise, and what type of accommodations we prefer. So, right out-of-the-gate, this was clearly going in the direction we wanted: a trip customized to our wishes, and not a cookie-cutter itinerary or a check-list of activities.

Danielle is a great listener, very patient, is easy to get ahold of, and a joy to work with. A draft plan was created from that first conference call (which was the response to our emailed contact point). We reviewed it, changed some of our wishes, partly from the great alternatives tabled for us to consider and the opportunity to do more specific research. We started our planning over a year in advance, so this allowed this itinerary to evolve over time and the subsequent calls we had.

The final itinerary was very detailed, including contact phone numbers and vouchers for each activity and hotel. Since many of the activities that we chose were weather-dependent, such as boat trips, a hot air balloon ride, and a helicopter trip, we needed to call and confirm beforehand. One of those numbers went to a recorded message indicating it was out of service. So I simply called First Light Travel’s emergency line and they took care of it for me in a matter of a few minutes.

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our trip. The drive, the scenery and activities were wonderful. Yes, weather affected two of our excursions, but First Light tracked these and issued a refund for the missed ones within a week of the completion of our trip. And it was fun to run into another Canadian couple, at the Clay Cliffs, whose trip had also been arranged by Danielle.

Date of experience: December 2023
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2023

Our New Zealand adventure was truly elevated by the exceptional recommendations and arrangements made by Micala Lindsay of First Light Travel. Micala's keen understanding of our preferences resulted in a meticulously curated itinerary that perfectly balanced accommodations and activities, transforming our vacation into an unforgettable experience.

Not solely focused on budget considerations, Micala aimed to ensure our enjoyment by crafting a well-paced journey with extended stays in each location. I greatly appreciated Micala's attention to detail, effortlessly coordinating all aspects of our trip, including tickets, flights, kayaking, and the fun Hobbit tour.

Among the many highlights, the Funjet kayak excursion in Queenstown and the scenic flight to Milford Sound were particularly memorable. The chosen accommodations mirrored our tastes flawlessly—the Mt. Cook Hermitage Hotel provided breathtaking views, the Christchurch B&B exuded kindness and comfort, and the Wellington QT Hotel and DeBrett in Auckland pleasantly surprised us.

Despite encountering unforeseen challenges, such as unfavorable weather preventing our helicopter flight to Franz Josef Glacier, First Light Travel demonstrated their commitment to customer satisfaction. The seamless refund process underscored their reliability and dedication to ensuring a positive travel experience. Reflecting on our time in Auckland, we regret not allowing for more days, but this only serves as an enticing reason to embark on another adventure with First Light Travel.

Date of experience: November 2023
1  Thank Winterhude
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews