We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing trip

Amazing experience with Danielle! We started in Fiji, then went to Queenstown, Ray's Peak, fox... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Dreamer05697392902
NZ North & South Scenic Trip - Cyril & Gowri

Our sincere thank you to Firstlight Travel for the awesome trip from Auckland to Rotorua and from... read more

Reviewed 17 May 2024
cyrilanandan
,
Klang, Malaysia
Read all 278 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Auckland
from $370.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
from $175.00
More Info
from $199.00
More Info
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveller rating
263
5
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
263
5
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive south island cradle mountain new zealand perfect trip travel consultant final itinerary great itinerary gordon river cruise transalpine train port arthur whole month milford sound cruise dream holiday activities planned week honeymoon whale watching
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 278 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2023

First Light Travel organised our wonderful 6 night self-drive trip to Tasmania. Can't fault the service, from packaging up our itinerary, to communication throughout including detailed instructions for the trip, to the quality of the inclusions. From Launceston to Hobart, we had great hotels, car hire and tours, including side trip to Cradle Mountain, cruise to Wine Glass Bay and a day at Port Arthur. Easy distances to cover each day. Loved it!!

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank 228ms2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2023

We had the "trip of a lifetime!" First Light Travel planned an amazing adventure based on the experiences we requested. Our self-drive itinerary was easy to follow and gave us varied accomodations and breathtaking excursions. We would definitely recommend this company.

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank Quest31026189177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2023

Gina was great to work with! She was very patient with all the changes I had putting the 4 1/2-week trip together. It was a fantastic trip, and we loved every minute of it! It was so nice to have everything taken care of in advance and not have to worry about reservations. Every hotel was booked, every flight was booked, every SUV reserved, and every excursion was booked, as requested. There were no hiccups at all, and everything was taken care of. For a trip that was 4 1/2 weeks long, it was hard to believe that there were snags! I really appreciate all her and her team's hard work...and being available to us when we had some last-minute changes along the way!
We were able to upgrade some hotel rooms (when available) for a better view, especially in Kaikoura where we upgraded to an end room on the top floor and a beautiful view of the sunrise!
We loved the TransAlpine train ride and, in hindsight, would love to have done the train on the east coast as well.
All and all I would strongly recommend First Light Travel and hopefully use them again!

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank sandi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2023

What an incredible journey through NZ. We travelled both islands. The accommodations were absolutely amazing. The chosen excursions were very exciting. They ranged from a nocturnal walk to see the kiwis, a cultural diner and dance, Milford Sound cruise and an Helicopter ride to the Glacier, and SOOO much more. We experienced a few issues, which Danielle helped us right away. She was extremely helpful and available to us at a moment's notice. We appreciated our trip so very much and a lot of it had to do with the fact, Danielle was there to guide us.

Date of experience: October 2023
1  Thank Compass26769184342
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2023

Thanks to First Light Travel and Joanna we had a wonderful 13-day self-driving trip around New Zealand’s South Island. Working with her was so easy and she selected interesting and exciting daily activities for us to enjoy, ranging from a heli-hike on Franz Joseph Glacier to hikes at Mt Aspiring to a cruise on Milford Sound and a lot more.

All the driver who picked us up at the airport, train station and other places were extremely friendly and knowledgeable and always on time. The accommodations were all very good.

Overall, we loved our trip to the South Island and would wholeheartedly recommend First Light Travel to anyone planning a trip to this part of the world.

Date of experience: October 2023
1  Thank darrens115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews