We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
AMAZING! Stress free vacation

Our first light travel adventure to north and South Island New Zealand was absolutely incredible... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Lori C
Perfect Bucket List Trip

First Light Travel planned the perfect trip for our first visit to long-om-our-bucket-list New... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Lynn P
,
Chicago, Illinois
Read all 282 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Auckland
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveller rating
267
5
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
267
5
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive south island cradle mountain new zealand perfect trip travel consultant final itinerary great itinerary gordon river cruise transalpine train port arthur whole month milford sound cruise dream holiday activities planned week honeymoon whale watching
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 282 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2023

Thanks to First Light Travel and Joanna we had a wonderful 13-day self-driving trip around New Zealand’s South Island. Working with her was so easy and she selected interesting and exciting daily activities for us to enjoy, ranging from a heli-hike on Franz Joseph Glacier to hikes at Mt Aspiring to a cruise on Milford Sound and a lot more.

All the driver who picked us up at the airport, train station and other places were extremely friendly and knowledgeable and always on time. The accommodations were all very good.

Overall, we loved our trip to the South Island and would wholeheartedly recommend First Light Travel to anyone planning a trip to this part of the world.

Date of experience: October 2023
1  Thank darrens115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023

Michelle was a fantastic travel agent. She listened carefully to our wants and designed a perfect trip for us. The itinerary was well structured with time between planned events to explore places and chat with folks that we had not known about... yet. Communication was excellent--quick and accurate inspite of the time differences between NZ and California. Highly recomm

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank phoebeh618
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023

This is probably the best holidays we had over the last few years. The scenery was fantastic. Nicole from First Light made sure the trips were all trouble free and even sent us early warning of possible traffic delays. The itineraries were customized to our needs.

Date of experience: October 2023
Thank weechongte
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2023

What an amazing vacation!! So much to do and so much beautiful scenery. We really enjoyed upgrades for Kuranda Rail and the ferry from Wellington to Picton. Awesome lodging choices, especially the smaller venues. From rain forest and the reef, to mountains, beaches, whales, fjords and glaciers - Mt Cook is a must do! And First Light made it so easy - flexible on itinerary and willing to customize at a great value. Wholeheartedly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank MARTHA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023

This review is very late. First light Travel and Danielle did an excellent job guiding us through Tasmania and both parts of New Zealand in March and April of 2023. We were delighted with everything. We only had two small glitches and those were addressed immediately and to our total satisfaction! We just can't say enough good things!

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews