We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Perfect Bucket List Trip

First Light Travel planned the perfect trip for our first visit to long-om-our-bucket-list New... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Lynn P
,
Chicago, Illinois
Great Experience and Great Job on all our Bookings for New Zealand!

Highest of praise for FirstLight Travel (FLT) an incredible team and Natalie, who put together a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Hamiltoncs
,
Anchorage, Alaska
Read all 281 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Auckland
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
266
5
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
266
5
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self drive south island cradle mountain new zealand perfect trip travel consultant final itinerary great itinerary gordon river cruise transalpine train port arthur whole month milford sound cruise dream holiday activities planned week honeymoon whale watching
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2023

What an amazing vacation!! So much to do and so much beautiful scenery. We really enjoyed upgrades for Kuranda Rail and the ferry from Wellington to Picton. Awesome lodging choices, especially the smaller venues. From rain forest and the reef, to mountains, beaches, whales, fjords and glaciers - Mt Cook is a must do! And First Light made it so easy - flexible on itinerary and willing to customize at a great value. Wholeheartedly recommend!

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank MARTHA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2023

This review is very late. First light Travel and Danielle did an excellent job guiding us through Tasmania and both parts of New Zealand in March and April of 2023. We were delighted with everything. We only had two small glitches and those were addressed immediately and to our total satisfaction! We just can't say enough good things!

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2023

Very happy to have engaged First Light Travel for our 18 days trip to NZ. Nicole first responded to our enquiry promptly and had been very professional in designing our customised trip to NZ.

It was a wonderful self drive trip, with very clear and well planned itinerary we therefore managed to visit all the planned visits.

Will definitely recommend First Light Travel to friends, they had delivered a good quality services.

Remember to bring drone if you have one.

Date of experience: August 2023
Thank Passenger61649945968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 October 2023

Well-planned by Tatyana! Was value for money too, given that they tailored the trip to our requirements. We went for 10 days, 6 accommodations. Rental car was booked for us too, 2 tours included. Love the recommendations of Strahan - Risby cove. Really a quiet place in the middle of nowhere. Fits our requirements to a T. Just the 99 bends almost took my breath away. Cradle Mountain hotel was another great accommodation booked. Wombats galore! Would skip Launceston Grand Chancellor and Tall Timbers if I were to do the trip again. And perhaps stay at Swinging Gate in tamar valley instead. The Penicott wildlife tour (part of the package) was yet another highlight of our trip. We saw dolphins! Bucket list checked!

Date of experience: June 2023
Thank alootikkarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2023 via mobile

This is the second time I have used First Light Travel. The first time was a trip organized from Broome to Perth in 2022 for a group of four ladies. This trip was so exceptionally well planned that I decided to use this great organization to help plan a trip to the South Island, New Zealand. I was again totally impressed by Gina for her efforts, efficiency, communication and eagerness to help me sort through an acceptable itinerary. Gina listened actively to my wishes and booked our entire trip for the 17 days we were travelling. Even though a couple of our tours were cancelled because of weather and illness Gina was able to organize refunds for us. I would highly recommend First Light Travel to anyone wanting to plan a trip to NZ or any other places they promote.

I would definitely use First Light Travel again as they make travelling so enjoyable and less stressful. They work through any concerns with their clients and consider matters such as cost, safety, enjoyment and timeliness.

Thanks Gina, you are amazing. 🤩😍

Date of experience: September 2023
Thank andede
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews