We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
106
112
36
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
112
36
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry terminal breakfast was included lovely old hotel old world charm mussels auckland city open fire short visit harbour view room quick drink elegant hotel sun room breakfast menu victoria suite scones new zealand lounge area
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2015

We stayed here the night before the Auckland Marathon. We chose this place because the start line was right outside the hotel and we're so glad we did. I'm sure the prices were a little higher that night because of the race but it was completely worth what we paid for it. It's in a very active part of the city so there was some noise outside but not overwhelming and really, who sleeps the night before a race anyway? Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank larao68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Booked Windsor room for the auckland marathon, the price is jacked up for the Saturday night but the location is right on the start line. When booked we requested and confirmed a cot for our infant would be in the room. Got in late on Friday and checked in but cot was not setup in room as they said it would be. Not a huge deal though.
The night before the marathon they had a sign saying live band in the hotel pub below the rooms. The marathon starts at 6am so you need to be in bed pretty earlier and I wasn't too impressed that I was going to pay inflated prices for the marathon night and then have loud music on, seemed to be a odd call on the hotels part. Anyways, right before the live band was supposed to start it got cancelled. Not sure if the hotel came to their senses, someone complained or if the band just didn't show up.
Included breakfast was excellent. I was annoyed though that when I checked in I was told breakfast didn't start until 7 or 8am. Apparently they did put on a earlier breakfast for runners for the marathon day but staff did not tell us, I just heard about it after.
The cleaniness of the room was ok, but did have a few ants, and a old cue tip wedged inbetween the carpet and skirting. The housekeeping seemed a bit lax, the one day we got no new faceclothes and all the towels were just on the bed (even the hand towels).
Last thing was someone just opened our door unannounced one evening, not sure if it was staff or someone else but they had a key so I would think a knock at least would be courteous.
Anyways, sounds like allot of complaining but generally the staff was friendly and the hotel is well placed but I feel like they have allot they could improve upon.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

Instead of staying in downtown Aukland we stayed in Devonport, just a 15 minute ferry ride from the city. Devonport is charming and far more relaxing than Aukland proper. The Esplanade Hotel is immediately across from the ferry and the rooms look out onto a park and the harbor. While there are many nice places to eat nearby we found it easier and more pleasant to eat at the hotel which has meal service all day, plus a full service bar - and also local entertainment most evenings. The first evening there was a decent jazz combo playing and the second evening we were persuaded to book a table for the weekly "quiz game" -- sort of like competitive trivial pursuit made merrier with their excellent wine. We had a blast and happy that just the two of us held our own against groups of 4 and 6. The food was really well prepared - excellent breakfast (but not included with the room). The room itself was spacious, clean with a modern generous sized bathroom. The staff was extremely helpful and really made it a special stay for us. Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sosso1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We stayed overnight with some friends. Met warmly by the Receptionist. The rooms are modern and lovely. We had a late night and came back in around midnight and commented to the person on duty how we would love a hot chocolate by the fireplace!. No problem...very accomodating.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Cute and full of character hotel. Windsor Room 107 that had a balcony, king bed. Breakfast that was included in deal was lovely and large sized. Bar was warm and cosy with roaring fire. Really helpful staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhonaRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Office M, Owner at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2016

Hi, Many thanks for staying at the Esplanade and for your review. I really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you return, cheers Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews