We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful building, well run and in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We enjoyed our two-night stay here, although (staying in the Victoria Room) it was the most expensive of the B&Bs we stayed at during our 3-week tour. The hostess (Judy) was friendly and helpful, our reasonably spacious room (with balcony furnished with small table and a couple of chairs and overlooking garden) characterful, clean and comfortable, breakfasts excellent. Sherry & port provided in room without extra charge. Despite being so close to the commercial centre of Auckland, which is easily reached by ferry, Devonport has a charming (colonial-style) flavour of its own with exotic trees and open space, and we were glad to be staying there rather than in the city centre.
We enjoyed following one of Devonport's heritage trails that took us along the waterfront and included the site of a disappearing gun.
While staying at the B&B we parked our rental car in the road nearby, which was fine. Access from road to front door is by steps.
Judy has a couple of spaniel-type dogs, which made themselves known on arrival, but they were quiet and didn't trouble us.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017

This was a return visit after some years and delighted to find the same welcome and quaint décor in the rooms. Two very friendly dogs. Loved the special touches with the sherry and the range of teas. Very comfortable nights sleep after the Bruce Springsteen concert! And very easy to get to from Auckland via the ferry - we just walked there. Only slight disappointment was the range of options for breakfast - what we had was good but felt there could have been a few more things on offer. Our hostess Judy was extremely accommodating too when we arrived early and allowed us to leave her bags whilst we went for a walk. Lovely to chat with her again. I'm sure we'll return.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This B&B is nice situated in Devonport, Auckland. Just a 5 minutes walk to the ferry for Auckland. The rooms have enough space and the rooms are very nice with good furniture and a great bed. The people who own the B&B are good in their job and helpfull. It is an expensive B&B, but it's worth it.
Two thinks are not so great. A lot of stairs witch means a hard way to get the luggage in the rooms. And from the balcony their is not a nice view at all.

Room Tip: Get a room at front site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

This is a gem being a well restored property stuffed full of artefacts and with a very welcoming hostess. The rooms are well stocked with ours on the first floor having a very spacious bathroom and balcony. Breakfasts were generous and well cooked freshly for you. It is situated just off the sea front in the heart of Devonport but it is peaceful, no traffic noise. Judy rang our hire car company for us to arrange a pick up to take us to their office which was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Devenport itself is very special. Just a short ferry ride from busy Auckland it has peace and tranquility, character and history and is a great place to base youself from. You will go a long way to find anywhere better than P & P. A historical and quirky building with great and comfortable rooms and wonderful host in Judy. Breakfasts are fantastic and we particularly liked mixing with the other travellers and sharing their adventures. Top notch.
One word of caution. Due to its proximity to the Town you can here the entertainment from the local hosteleries until 11.30 ish. If you are an early sleeper you may be affected.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
232 reviews
3.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,226 reviews
3.8 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
3.5 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range: $283 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing