We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Characterful building, well run and in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Surrey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Characterful building, well run and in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2017

We enjoyed our two-night stay here, although (staying in the Victoria Room) it was the most expensive of the B&Bs we stayed at during our 3-week tour. The hostess (Judy) was friendly and helpful, our reasonably spacious room (with balcony furnished with small table and a couple of chairs and overlooking garden) characterful, clean and comfortable, breakfasts excellent. Sherry & port provided in room without extra charge. Despite being so close to the commercial centre of Auckland, which is easily reached by ferry, Devonport has a charming (colonial-style) flavour of its own with exotic trees and open space, and we were glad to be staying there rather than in the city centre.
We enjoyed following one of Devonport's heritage trails that took us along the waterfront and included the site of a disappearing gun.
While staying at the B&B we parked our rental car in the road nearby, which was fine. Access from road to front door is by steps.
Judy has a couple of spaniel-type dogs, which made themselves known on arrival, but they were quiet and didn't trouble us.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    47
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
57
278
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2017

This was a return visit after some years and delighted to find the same welcome and quaint décor in the rooms. Two very friendly dogs. Loved the special touches with the sherry and the range of teas. Very comfortable nights sleep after the Bruce Springsteen concert! And very easy to get to from Auckland via the ferry - we just walked there. Only slight disappointment was the range of options for breakfast - what we had was good but felt there could have been a few more things on offer. Our hostess Judy was extremely accommodating too when we arrived early and allowed us to leave her bags whilst we went for a walk. Lovely to chat with her again. I'm sure we'll return.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2017

This B&B is nice situated in Devonport, Auckland. Just a 5 minutes walk to the ferry for Auckland. The rooms have enough space and the rooms are very nice with good furniture and a great bed. The people who own the B&B are good in their job and helpfull. It is an expensive B&B, but it's worth it.
Two thinks are not so great. A lot of stairs witch means a hard way to get the luggage in the rooms. And from the balcony their is not a nice view at all.

Room Tip: Get a room at front site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017

This is a gem being a well restored property stuffed full of artefacts and with a very welcoming hostess. The rooms are well stocked with ours on the first floor having a very spacious bathroom and balcony. Breakfasts were generous and well cooked freshly for you. It is situated just off the sea front in the heart of Devonport but it is peaceful, no traffic noise. Judy rang our hire car company for us to arrange a pick up to take us to their office which was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2017

Devenport itself is very special. Just a short ferry ride from busy Auckland it has peace and tranquility, character and history and is a great place to base youself from. You will go a long way to find anywhere better than P & P. A historical and quirky building with great and comfortable rooms and wonderful host in Judy. Breakfasts are fantastic and we particularly liked mixing with the other travellers and sharing their adventures. Top notch.
One word of caution. Due to its proximity to the Town you can here the entertainment from the local hosteleries until 11.30 ish. If you are an early sleeper you may be affected.

Green Features: Very committed to all matter ecological.We appreciated their committment to sustainable products.
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.3 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
3.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
5.3 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Property: Peace and Plenty Inn
Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price range (per night): $253 - $389
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing