We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of peace on this our second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 March 2017

This was a return visit after some years and delighted to find the same welcome and quaint décor in the rooms. Two very friendly dogs. Loved the special touches with the sherry and the range of teas. Very comfortable nights sleep after the Bruce Springsteen concert! And very easy to get to from Auckland via the ferry - we just walked there. Only slight disappointment was the range of options for breakfast - what we had was good but felt there could have been a few more things on offer. Our hostess Judy was extremely accommodating too when we arrived early and allowed us to leave her bags whilst we went for a walk. Lovely to chat with her again. I'm sure we'll return.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017

This B&B is nice situated in Devonport, Auckland. Just a 5 minutes walk to the ferry for Auckland. The rooms have enough space and the rooms are very nice with good furniture and a great bed. The people who own the B&B are good in their job and helpfull. It is an expensive B&B, but it's worth it.
Two thinks are not so great. A lot of stairs witch means a hard way to get the luggage in the rooms. And from the balcony their is not a nice view at all.

Room Tip: Get a room at front site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

This is a gem being a well restored property stuffed full of artefacts and with a very welcoming hostess. The rooms are well stocked with ours on the first floor having a very spacious bathroom and balcony. Breakfasts were generous and well cooked freshly for you. It is situated just off the sea front in the heart of Devonport but it is peaceful, no traffic noise. Judy rang our hire car company for us to arrange a pick up to take us to their office which was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Devenport itself is very special. Just a short ferry ride from busy Auckland it has peace and tranquility, character and history and is a great place to base youself from. You will go a long way to find anywhere better than P & P. A historical and quirky building with great and comfortable rooms and wonderful host in Judy. Breakfasts are fantastic and we particularly liked mixing with the other travellers and sharing their adventures. Top notch.
One word of caution. Due to its proximity to the Town you can here the entertainment from the local hosteleries until 11.30 ish. If you are an early sleeper you may be affected.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Stayed as a couple for a couple of nights at weekend.
Meet and greet fine. Judy the owner went through the hotel room compendium with us to make sure everything was covered off.
Building and room itself was packed with character with most surfaces having stuff like flowers, port, glasses, vases, bottles of creme and so on which I guess some would label clutter and struggle with but we coped with fine.
Joe the puppy made his presence felt to start off with but soon got his marching orders and didn't present an issue.
Breakfast was yummy and served on a long table shared with other guests. This took me out of my comfort zone to start with but we soon got talking and began to relax.
Devonport itself is cute by Auckland standards and prices reflect that. My guess is that this hotel is mid priced for the area but does offer an olde-worlde charm beyond what will be found elsewhere in the area.
The area itself is quiet so a good night's sleep should be available. The building is authentic so floors can creak when people upstairs move about. I guess this could bother some but we just found it added to the authenticity and overall experience.
Our shower bathroom was small by some standards but was perfectly adequate - I am over 6 foot tall so if I can fit so should most. I'm not sure what people who grumble about this are doing in their bathroom - a highland fling perhaps.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
234 reviews
3.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,878 reviews
3.0 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,227 reviews
3.8 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,545 reviews
3.5 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport, Auckland 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > North Shore > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price Range: $283 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing