We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely characterful b&b in a very handy position.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peace and Plenty Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Devonport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A lovely characterful b&b in a very handy position.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2017

This is a gem being a well restored property stuffed full of artefacts and with a very welcoming hostess. The rooms are well stocked with ours on the first floor having a very spacious bathroom and balcony. Breakfasts were generous and well cooked freshly for you. It is situated just off the sea front in the heart of Devonport but it is peaceful, no traffic noise. Judy rang our hire car company for us to arrange a pick up to take us to their office which was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    47
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
57
278
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2017

Devenport itself is very special. Just a short ferry ride from busy Auckland it has peace and tranquility, character and history and is a great place to base youself from. You will go a long way to find anywhere better than P & P. A historical and quirky building with great and comfortable rooms and wonderful host in Judy. Breakfasts are fantastic and we particularly liked mixing with the other travellers and sharing their adventures. Top notch.
One word of caution. Due to its proximity to the Town you can here the entertainment from the local hosteleries until 11.30 ish. If you are an early sleeper you may be affected.

Green Features: Very committed to all matter ecological.We appreciated their committment to sustainable products.
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed as a couple for a couple of nights at weekend.
Meet and greet fine. Judy the owner went through the hotel room compendium with us to make sure everything was covered off.
Building and room itself was packed with character with most surfaces having stuff like flowers, port, glasses, vases, bottles of creme and so on which I guess some would label clutter and struggle with but we coped with fine.
Joe the puppy made his presence felt to start off with but soon got his marching orders and didn't present an issue.
Breakfast was yummy and served on a long table shared with other guests. This took me out of my comfort zone to start with but we soon got talking and began to relax.
Devonport itself is cute by Auckland standards and prices reflect that. My guess is that this hotel is mid priced for the area but does offer an olde-worlde charm beyond what will be found elsewhere in the area.
The area itself is quiet so a good night's sleep should be available. The building is authentic so floors can creak when people upstairs move about. I guess this could bother some but we just found it added to the authenticity and overall experience.
Our shower bathroom was small by some standards but was perfectly adequate - I am over 6 foot tall so if I can fit so should most. I'm not sure what people who grumble about this are doing in their bathroom - a highland fling perhaps.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NZBeerMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2017

What a charming well-maintained heritage in the lovely genteel Devonport area near the seaside! We're welcomed by the hostess Judy and her doggies who greeted my boys to laughters. We're also surprised in awe in the historical deco and beddings which looked much more beautiful than in pictures. The port and shelly wine in each room was definitely a great delight to add! One of our rooms was upgraded free of charge upon another traveller's cancellation. The breakfast was also impeccable, very homecoming.

Judy -- thank you so much for finding out my USB charger!

Hope my family can come back very soon and stay here again!

Wish you good health and happiness!

Green Features: Oh I love the well chosen herbal shampoo and conditioner!!
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

This B&B was my first hotel on my trip. I felt immediately wellcomed. The lady who is running the hotel is such a sweetheart. She brings the life to the hotel.
The rooms are all in victorian style,you feel like 100 years ago. But all the comfort is 21.century. The bed was very comfy, the rooms are all clean and you'll have enough space. In the first room, I had a little balcony, that was perfect to watch the sunrise in the morning. In the second room (I needed to change room,but that was never a problem), I had a bathtube. All the bathrooms are equipped with shampoo,conditioner,hand wash and body wash and also a body lotion. Not just cheap ones,but very good ones.
The breakfast ist from 8 till 9,you will sit on a long table,or small ones. I sat on the long table,so I had conversations with people from all over the world. You'll get a range of cereals,fresh fruit,yoghurt,bacon,eggs,waffles...everything you like. Cooked by the lovely owner.

I loved to stay there and hope to get back!

Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devonport
0.2 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#1 of 2 in Devonport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.3 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
3.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,410 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
5.3 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peace and Plenty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peace and Plenty Inn

Property: Peace and Plenty Inn
Address: 6 Flagstaff Terrace, Devonport 0624, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Devonport
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Devonport
Price range (per night): $253 - $389
Hotel Class:5 star — Peace and Plenty Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peace and Plenty Inn is a magnificently restored Victorian villa (circa 1880), situated in an unbeatable waterfront location in the heart of the historic maritime village of Devonport. We invite you to stay at our gracious home offering comfortable and friendly luxury accommodation. We host visitors who come to relax from all over the world, along with New Zealanders enjoying a weekend away. High Teas are available most weekends and we also host small boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peace and Plenty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peace And Plenty Hotel Devonport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing