We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$25
US$15
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Coconutbeach Bungalows(Koh Rong)(Great Value!)
US$8
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Bunnan Bungalows and Restaurant(Koh Rong)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$15
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Dragon Den(Koh Rong)
US$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$33
Travelocity
View Deal
US$3,098
US$2,209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
187
147
83
44
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
147
83
44
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspeed boatwhite sandsmall villagetv serieseat pray lovecrystal watera garden view roomsand flieskayaking tripnearby villagehot waterboat transferisland hoppingquiet sideplastic bottlesphnom penhtakes hours
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Initial impressions good with the private transfer to the resort ( worth doing) Bungalow dark and very basic not enough chairs to sit out on the balcony ( no view anyway )
We had great difficulty trying to organise our boat over to Koh Rong Samloem and was given vastly different information from staff - it was suggested they could source a private boat but on further questioning it became apparent that they didn’t consider it safe. - I would have expected some knowledge of boat transfers times etc on a remote island, it seemed they were only interested if you were using their boat to go back and forth to the main land( We eventually sorted out boats from one of the piers in the village which wasted a full morning of our 2 day trip and involved 2 boats -one which broke down 8 times but that’s another story )
On our last day the safe wouldn’t open and despite our boat leaving at 8 and being collected at 7:30, we were told someone would be along at 8:30 to try and open it( it had our passports and money in ) The safe appeared to be operated by a battery which was running low so do be aware of this. At the very last minute we managed to get it open.
We had no help with taking our luggage from our room to our departure point. And contrary to all other places we have stayed at in Cambodia the majority of staff were pretty miserable and just not as friendly or polite or even interested in their guests.
Beach was pretty but very dirty either side of the resort
Wouldn’t visit again wish we had gone straight to Koh ring Samloem.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole I, Front Office Manager at Sok San Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear elizabeth
Thank you for your review which is obviously disappointing for us to read that we did not meet your expectations. All your feedback is well noted. For the issues with the boats to Koh Rong Samloen the only time there would be issues with this is if there is bad weather, hence why we might consider it unsafe. We organise boats to Koh Rong Samloen all the time for guests arriving and departing, as unfortunately we do not have enough boats to do trips for all our guests to other areas/islands so we are always happy to organise other transport modes/options. We are very surprised to read that you found our team to miserable and unfriendly as we usually always receive very positive feedback about our team and we are very proud of them. As mentioned above your feedback is noted and will be discussed with management and relevant teams. Kind regards from the SSBR team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

If there is such a thing as the ultimate beach, this is the one. And the best thing - it's not crowded!

Sok San Beach is a few kilometers long white sand beach and SSBR is actually the only resort there. So we had the best from both worlds - lying on sun beds, reading books and ordering cocktails or exploring the beach and have it literally all to ourselves.

The staff speaks English well and is happy to cater special requests. For instance they do not have many vegetarian options on the menu but were happy to prepare a customized avocado salad for us.

A big plus is that SSBR offers private shuttle to Sihkanouville so getting there is effective and fast.

I really recommend to stay in this resort for a few days and enjoy this beach while it's still so not touristic and crowded.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Žiga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole I, Front Office Manager at Sok San Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Ziga B
Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing SSBR as your preferred choice on Koh Rong Island. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed our resort and the unspoiled beauty/location of our beach. We are really proud of our team at SSBR so its great to hear they met your expectations and reviews like this motivates them to continue to give the best service and assist as best they can at all times.
Your feedback regarding our boat service, which is definitely the most comfortable, convenient and safest way to reach us, is also noted.
Thanks again for your review and we hope we will welcome you back at SSBR one day. Best wishes from the SSBR team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Sok San Beach Resort have most likely the best beach in Koh Rong, water is so clean and blue. I saw the staff cleaning beach many times during the day and there's plenty of sunbeds to everybody. Bungalow that we stayed in was super cozy and spacious with natural looking wood and was located just near the beach, so you can see the most perfect view from the window. There's lovely beach bar, you can get all kind of snacks and drinks there. Also for more authentic feeling go to Sok San Village, it just a little walk away from resort. A good news for sustainable travelers is, that it's possible to refill your drinking bottles and that the resort sends its trash to the mainland for recycing.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marleenparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole I, Front Office Manager at Sok San Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2018

Dear marleenparn
Thank you very much for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed the beauty of our beach and our facilities and noted our sustainability efforts. We hope to see you at SSBR again one day. Best wishes from the SSBR team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

The place is well for sand and sun type of holiday. However the weakneses is less western type breakfast. Obviously, the best placw when uou compare the other places in terms of facilities and price. We enjoyed...

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank ali i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole I, Front Office Manager at Sok San Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Dear ali I
Great to hear you enjoyed what SSBR is all about - sand, sun and of course relaxation. Best wishes from the SSBR team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

I don’t think there are so many places like this left anymore: crystal clear water, white sand, clean and no people! We had an amazing stay at Sok San and it met all our expectations of a tropical island. The resort feels very luxurious, good food, good service and nice rooms. It’s the only hotel on a very long white beach with turquoise water. We found it as high value for the money and can really recommend it!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSBR2, Public Relations Manager at Sok San Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Delighted to hear you enjoyed our resort!
Looking forward to welcoming you again,
SSBR Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews