We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to lift its game.”
Review of The Coffee Bomb

The Coffee Bomb
Ranked #1 of 1 Quick Bites in Garston
Price range: $11 - $20
Description: We are a small restaurant on wheels . we take pride in our southern food menu, and do our best to be as fast as we can. Reviewed for our fantastic coffee .
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small restaurant on wheels . we take pride in our southern food menu, and do our best to be as fast as we can. Reviewed for our fantastic coffee .
Reviewed 13 April 2024

Garston is a good place to stop for a break, but the Coffee Bomb needs to lift its game. To be fair they were very busy, but businesses we’re giving our money to need to be able to cope under pressure. It took a long time for my simple order to be ready. The carrot cake was hard and dry, nasty. I ordered a medium-size tea, but was given a small. I had ordered Earl Grey, but was given some fruity tea I didn’t like. The pressure showed in the stressed-behaving staff. I didn’t ask for my order to be replaced because it would have taken too long, and I was a bit scared. The only consolation for the owner is that on the way home three days later I stopped for carrot cake in Lumsden and it was worse. See my review about that. Otago / Southland needs to sort out its carrot cakes - should be moist. A matter of National concern.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Go63498193537
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

Stopped for a coffee - the cappuccino was great, and burgers looked awesome as well! Nice atmosphere. Definitely worth a stop!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank miquel0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Stopped here on the drive from Te Anau to Queenstown for brunch with my family.
Definitely worth the stop, food & coffee were great, not overpriced like some places in NZ.
.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 40lloydm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kylie sutton, Owner at The Coffee Bomb, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Paddock to Plate is what we do we try and grow or make everything we use anything we can't we source from other local farms .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2024 via mobile

Great find. We had stopped at the Hunny Shop and found this place next door which made the stop worthwhile. We tried a few of their sandwiches and they were so tasty. The lamb burger was my favourite. Hubby liked the pulled pork and the teenager reckoned that the vegetable one was best as it had a tasty chutney. Worth making it a lunch stop !

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank pbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kylie sutton, Owner at The Coffee Bomb, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thankyou so very much . those makes all our hard work worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2023

Unbeatably excellent coffee and very good and wholesome NZ country-style food. A welcome relief to find a good breakfast place early in the morning.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aulestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kylie sutton, Owner at The Coffee Bomb, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thanks heaps . Did you know we produce all our food . Paddock to plate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coffee Bomb also viewed

 
Athol, Southland Region
Garston, Southland Region
 

Been to The Coffee Bomb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.