We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Scott Marks
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Despite being right next to the State Highway the room was insulated enough that the road noise wasn't an issue.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Dec 2021
The owner was lovely and very accommodating. We had made a mistake and booked the wrong night but she sorted it all out for us when we arrived.
The room was clean and tidy and had all the usual amenities. The only slight annoyance was that the bed is on a diagonal part of the wall so it doesn't have room for bedside tables to fit.
Also the bathroom, and in particular the shower, is quite small and I'd caution any larger framed people that they may have difficulties fitting.
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GatewayMotor L, Owner at Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 6 Dec 2021
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. Family Rooms have a bigger bathroom.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
89 Waterloo Cres
Booking.com
$150
  • Agoda.com
41.6 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $179
  • Hotels.com
42.0 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front entrance
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
42.0 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
74.7 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
42.8 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
65.3 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
76.9 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2 Bedroom Cabin
Contact accommodation for availability.
78.7 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
23.6 km from Gateway Motor Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Dannevirke
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
6
15
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
15
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was impressed. The owners were so helpful and the bed was super comfortable. While it was a bit noisy you would expect this beside the main road.
Very clean and reasonably priced and I would be happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank rossacammell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2020

Finally found a motel that had their last room available. Clean and tidy and spacious enough for our 1 night. Bed very comfy and owners were very friendly and extremely accommodating and brought map and informative travelling book for our travels to our room. We had driven from the bottom of the south is and in that time we couldn't just stop where we wanted to due to lack of vacancies in hotels and had to keep our fingers crossed to find something. Great stay and would be happy to stay longer if necessary.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sotired321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately the place is very basic and over priced. Bedding is old and dated. Furniture is not very comfortable and the kitchen is not very usable.
Bathroom is extremely small.
The traffic noise is constant plus the noise from the freight train...
Very disappointed not a country home comforts...

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank GreerShanasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2019 via mobile

Tidy and well laid out. Very friendly manager. Ok as a stopover if you cant find anywhere else. We were unable to leave windows open due to lack of security stays on windows, and proximity to railway and road. Mid week stay and was very very noisy from passing large trucks. Bathroom small and shower literally a closed box with no ventilation. Felt uncomfortable to use. Bathroom tiny.
Unit otherwise well appointed and in very good condition.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jenniferfS9959BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

My wife and I had been attending the Napier Art Deco Festival and were not able to find any local accomodation, unsurprising. We found the Gateway Motel Lodge on line but had no idea what to expect for a motel in a small town like Dannevirke. On arriving late in the evening, we found our room neat and tidy and nicely decorated, compared with many others. The facilities are minimal but adequate for a brief stopover. Cute, nice and tidy.😎

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ceepeetoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
123gateway, Owner at Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2019

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your Art Deco Festival, We will post your Phone chargers to you. Contact Roof Logic as it may be of benefit to your Business. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews