We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A GREAT TIME FISHING

We had a BLAST !!! Thanks to Merf, Sue and Chuiwy we had 3 incredible days of fishing. Abundunce of... read more

Reviewed 11 May 2021
johngJ7598BS
,
chicago, United States
Great Day on the Water!

Absolutely Amazing Fishing Trip; cannot imagine a more perfect day of Tuna catching, Marlin... read more

Reviewed 9 April 2021
bocrie
,
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Read all 45 reviews
  
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
41
1
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
1
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooster fish yellowfin tuna fantastic job beach bungalow fishing trip sea turtles fruit look forward catch and release sue chui property roosterfish pacific dorado action roosters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2021

Under the honed skills and wry humor of Captain Merf Murphy who not only has been conducting deep sea Fishing Charters for 25 years (but is also a retired 747 Boeing Passenger Airline Captain) - I just knew that I was in competent hands ! First Officer Sue is the most delightful and charming hostess and supplied us with delicious eats, snacks, fruits and iced-drinks during the entire trip

2 hours out of the charming port of Boca Chica and we were experiencing a 'National Geographic' moment with Dolphins herding the bait-balls and Pelicans, Boobies and Seagulls having a feast - and the lines started to run. Thanks to the guidance of Capt. Merf and the awesome gaffing stength of Capt. Chui I was able to land 2 Yellow Fin Tuna and a Dorado/Mahi-Mahi - the Sailfish was released in the water and not taken aboard to lessen the trauma and risk of injury to the fish

This operation observes the ethos of responsible fishing and catch and release of Cubera Snapper and Roosterfish - the next to be ticked off from my bucker list ... and guess who'll be there once more to ensure my success !

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank HErBocaChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Reel Inn In Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Well Herbie...Thanks a lot for joining us for your birthday this year on the Dolphin Dancer. Gotta say old Mother Nature was at her best, and you also were at your best...you kicked butt Herbie!! Most guys start whining after just one tuna, and start asking questions like how much longer. Not you...you bested two of them bad boys...then a Sail, and Dorado...just to show off!! Again...Great Job!! Love your zest for life!!

Merf and the gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2021

Catch and release - Rooster fish, Dorado fishing
Capt. Merf and Sue were great hosts!
Super fishing trip that we would repeat in a heartbeat.
Our boys were so enchanted

Date of experience: May 2020
Thank F2376QLjamesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Reel Inn In Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2021

Thank you guys so much for the opportunity to take your family out fishing! It was a great time for sure for your boys and what a fantastic fishing adventure we all had! We are so glad that we were able to share this great fishery with you all! It was great spending the time together- come back soon! Sue & Merf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2020

Excellent experience. My wife and I booked a full day on the "setting sun", targeting jacks and roosters. Our guide was Victor, a local who spoke excellent English and was friendly, accommodating and knew the local waters very well. I brought along some of my own tackle along with a medium action rod so I could experience fighting good fish on light tackle. He managed to maneuver the boat such that I had great casting opportunities on structure all day. He put us on fish immediately. The fish were slow at first and reluctant to bite but the continuous follow ups and occasional bump kept the interest and intensity up. Once they decided to bite the fun really began. I felt like Victor was in tune to what we wanted to accomplish and what we wanted to experience and he made it happen.
I also want to thank Murph and Sue for shuffling the schedule because of high winds. They really want everything to be a good experience.
I highly recommend reel in Panama and I hope to do it again some day. Overall a great value along with sights and settings you will never forget.
Bill

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank bluebillyoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Reel Inn In Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

We are so glad that you & Winny had such a great time fishing wirh us here at Reel Inn in Panama!! Nothing makes us feel better then giving our guests exactly what they wanted & of course- the fish biting makes it all worth it! You guys were great & we hope to see you again soon! Sue, Merf & Victor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

If you are still in Boca Chica Saturday mornings, Sue offers the perfect balance to regenerate from all your Reel Inn Fishing and Panama adventures. She offers a Hatha Yoga Class from 10:00 to 11:30 am. You arrive at their Reel Inn property and are led to the point which is a shaded area under a beautiful, sweeping tree surrounded by water and jungle. If you do not have a mat with you, you can grab a mat from Sue. Any tension you may have releases as soon as you sit on your mats with the refreshing breezes and lovely backdrops. I was a total beginner and Sue did a fantastic job making it easy for the 'newbies' while still challenging enough for the more experienced. The good thing is that everyone can do as little or as much as they are comfortable doing. Sue was great creating an organic flow from posture to posture with mental and physical strengthening, stretching and breathing exercises for everyone. It is truly a treat to escape in their corner of paradise. I truly look forward to being there next Saturday again. JM

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank JFM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Reel Inn In Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2020

How lovely to hear!! It is the best thing ever to share Inspiration Point with all of our friends and passing guests!! We are so lucky to have such a special group of folks out here that like to do yoga together, I look forward to it every week! Thanks again for being such a special part of it all!! Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020 via mobile

I don’t claim to be an expert, but I have fished and caught marlin in many parts of the world. Some good captains, some not so great experiences - Murph at Reel Inn is the best. Great company and super knowledge of where to find the fish. Would have written this review anyway, but the fact that I caught a 450lb blue marlin, 3 big Pacific sailfish and lost a black marlin late in the afternoon made it all the sweeter

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank smithersoldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue M, Owner at Reel Inn In Panama, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2020

We had a great time Andy, and thanks for joining us here at Reel Inn. Next time we we will get you that BILLFISH GRAND SLAM!!! Merf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews