We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful accommodion with everything we needed”
The stone barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stone barn
Dining area and lounge Conservatory
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
The stone barn
Dining area and lounge
Conservatory
Rear of barn
Master Bedroom
En Suite bathroom
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Main bathroom/shower
Ground floor wc with shower
Dining area /stairs
Garden at rear of barn
House from drive-lots of parking!
Rear house, solar roof
Kitchen
Play room with ping pong/ table football/freezer
View from bedroom
View from conservatory
Kitchen
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RosiGlow
Shepperton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodion with everything we needed”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week at Lynchett Chase Barn during the July heatwave! The accommodation was perfect for six adults and three under-fives. There were sufficient bathrooms for us and all the facilities we could possibly want - the kitchen was extremely well equipped, and a second fridge/freezer in the games room was a welcome addition. The lovely weather meant we were able to take advantage of the gas bbq and enjoy our evening meals in the secure garden. In the evenings the adults had great fun playing table tennis tournaments in the games room! The Barn was ideally situated so that we were able to easily visit many of Dorset's beautiful beaches and countryside. Apart from the lovely beaches, one of the best attractions we visited was the Abbotsbury Swannery where the children can join in the feeding of the swans at midday, and its Sub-tropical gardens, which were a shady respite from the heat! We also visited the Fleet Air Arm Museum which was within a reasonable distance of Maiden Newton. This was certainly a memorable holiday and we would definitely consider returning to this lovely Barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We had all the facilities we needed
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caro2014
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful sojourn in stunning accommodation located in a heavenly corner of England”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at Lynchett Chase Barn and would highly recommend it as a perfect retreat for families and couples alike. Beautiful setting in rural Dorset in very comfortable and well equipped accommodation. Maiden Newton and the surrounding areas have masses to offer with wonderful places to eat, drink and enjoy cream teas - just as well that there are lots of beautiful walks to work it all off! It is also within reach of Dorset's beautiful coast for bracing cliff top and beach strolls.

Fabulous countryside, wonderful Barn. If you want to sample the real England, then this is a great place to try.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura_fro...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful two weeks at the Lynchett Chase Barn. The Barn was beautiful, spacious and perfect for our family of five plus grandma and grandpa. Our three kids, nine years old and younger, were especially happy with the large yard, the patio and sunroom and the playroom/shed in the back. The kitchen is well appointed and we appreciated the extra refrigerator in the shed. The village of Maiden Newton was lovely and it is centrally located for many activities and adventures. I highly recommend the Barn!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the Barn, and its location near lots of things to see and do.
Liked least: The rooster that lives next door with no sense of time.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 7 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern amenties set in such a characteristic barn
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing