We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,487)
Filter reviews
1,487 results
Traveller rating
1,174
196
70
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
196
70
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red level the main hotel terrace restaurant tapas liquid lounge chateaubriand clarins toiletries duo fine dining boutique hotel butler service fruit kebabs cold towels whirlpool bath cocktail hour pillow menu half board fish market
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 1,487 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This hotel offered all we wanted. Adults only, perfect pools, great location, good food, and all the trimmings. We went for the larger terrace, with our own sunbeds, just a few steps away from the pool. So the hotel itself, I cannot fault.
My next comment is not really aimed at the hotel, but to its guests. We went for the adults only as we wanted peace and quiet, ie no screaming kids...! However there are some 'adults' out there who still behave like kids themselves. They have no consideration to others, and obviously no manors.
There were the Spanish guys, 3 balconies away, who could not speak to each other, unless they shouted at 90 decibels. Then there were the English couple who arrived and immediately set up their hifi system on their terrace, forcing everyone to listen to them singing along to some very loud music. We had no choice but to move inside to save our eardrums. After 30 minutes I was about to complain to the hotel, suggesting they inform these inconsiderate guests, there is a kids disco they could go to, when it suddenly went quiet. I suspect reception could hear the din from 50 yards away, and came and put a stop to it. If they wanted to behave like ignorant teenagers, go to Ibiza.
Most people have the intelligence to understand this is not how you behave. If you are one of these, go to this hotel, it's great. If you are reading this and think, you can do whatever you like on holiday and sod the rest of them, then please book one of those 18-30 booze holidays, and leave the rest of us in piece...

Room tip: Go for the extended terrace. Having your own sunbed is great.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
8  Thank tim361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz_AVI, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear guest tim361.

Firstly thank you for choosing Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora and for sharing your feedback with the travelers of TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you and your entire family have enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. We place great importance in providing our guests with great experiences .

You may rest assured that we will take into consideration your feedback in order to improve in our proposal to the continuous amelioration of our services.

The entire team is looking forward to having the pleasure to welcome you at Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

Best regards,

Beatriz Ávila
Red Level Director


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

Anyone that has read my reviews will know they're fairly lengthy, but I try to cover all aspects. To give a very short summary though: Amazing service, lovely hotel, relaxing and worth every penny, Red Level is a cut above.

RED LEVEL
It is worth first mentioning what 'Red Level' gets you / how it differs to anyone booking non-red level.
You stay in a separate 'wing' of the hotel (it is connected to the main hotel) and have access to separate pools / garden areas. These areas also have bars, sun loungers and towels, as you would expect. You get free water, tea and coffee throughout the day (from the aforementioned areas) and pastries / fruit are also available. It's worth mentioning that the coffee is brilliant - so many different types and options; if you like coffee, you'll be impressed.
Also, at one of the dining areas there is Happy Hour for 1hr a day where you can enjoy free canapes and drinks (beer, wine, cava, spirits), which includes branded spirits. You also get access to a Red Level restaurant, albeit we didn't get the chance to eat there.
The Red Level staff are AMAZING. Polite, friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. They'll even come round throughout the day poolside with different smoothies and fruit offerings. A nice touch. It's also nice to have free, cold water available throughout the day.
As part of Red Level you also get 1x access per guest to the Spa. This is well worth a visit as includes sauna, steam room, pool and a variety of other water experiences. You will chuckle at the daft looking shower cap you have to wear but just go with it. All of the toiletries in your room are Clarins (nice!) too, as is the Spa branding.

FOOD / DRINK
Drinks are relatively well priced for a high quality hotel. You're looking at an average of 5 Euros a drink for beer / wine. As mentioned above, water is free throughout the day, as is tea & coffee. You get a coffee machine in your room as well as kettle etc. The minibar is well priced and well stocked with similar prices to poolside.

ROOMS
Beautifully clean; Queen size double bed; spacious. Big TV on the wall with a Bluetooth speaker (handy for playing music via your phone). We had a garden balcony (we didn't pay for the sea view) and it was still lovely; the gardens are well kept and not too noisy. Personally I don't think the extra money for a sea view (it was quite a lot more from memory) would have been worth it.
His and her sinks, massive bath, rainfall showerhead and Clarins toiletries all feature in the bathroom.
The room gets cleaned each day and beds turned down in the evening. You couldn't fault the rooms, they're brilliant.

CHECK IN/OUT
Truly an experience. You get offered a drink whilst you check in (nice touch) and talked through the various offerings of the hotel. The staff are SO polite and courteous that you're made to feel really special. All staff speak perfect English (probably better than we do!) and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. As you sip on your cava being told about the week you have ahead you know you've made the right choice of hotel!

POOL / SPA / SUNBEDS / TOWELS
As mentioned above, you get 1x access to the Spa for each guest. It's good, make the most of it.
There were plenty of sunbeds each time we sat by the pool or in the gardens; I didn't see anyone reserving beds early in the morning and never using them. Towels are provided poolside (a nice touch that Red Level guests get red towels) so you don't even have to bring your own beach towel. You get access to the Red Level pools/garden areas but are also welcome to use the numerous other ones within the main hotel (we didn't). Within the Red Level area it is quiet and spacious, you can also pay to have a Bali Bed should you wish (we didn't).

WiFi
Very strong. Good connection speed and present throughout the hotel. There is a separate Red Level login which I suspect gives you better speed and coverage than the normal hotel. Whether it be by the pool, at the restaurant or in your room, you get WiFi everywhere. Good work by the hotel given the area it covers.

LOCATION
If anything, this is the only downfall of the hotel. Don't get me wrong, the location isn't bad (right by the beach, warm and in a fairly nondescript area) but there isn't a huge amount outside of the hotel. The local village has a coffee shop and a couple of bars - you certainly won't find a vibrant night life - but there are limited restaurants to eat at. The 3 we did eat at were all very good; one being more of a pizzeria, another (down by the sea) fairly romantic and another more like a bar. However, if you want to try lots of different restaurants or have a night on the town then you would probably come away disappointed. You can, of course, eat at the hotel (it has numerous restaurants) - we didn't as wanted to have more local cuisine and because we felt the hotel restaurants were quite expensive (both the Red Level one and the other ones). If, however, you just want to have something to eat at the end of the day and are happy with say 3 restaurants outside the hotel then you'll be fine. Incidentally, the 3 restaurants we went to were all very good value.

SUMMARY
Yes you pay more for Red Level and I appreciate it is adults only i.e. no children; however, if you want a relaxing holiday and to be looked after and made to feel special, you should go here. The service is sublime and the staff are exceptional. The hotel has sports facilities and shows etc, which you can use as you wish, and the entire place is spotless. The surrounding location is the only drawback but if you're looking for relaxation then you'll rarely stray from the hotel so don't let that put you off. Book Red Level and you won't be disappointed; don't blame me though when you want to go back again as soon as you get home.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surreygent32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz_AVI, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear surreygent32,

Thank you for your preference in selecting Red Level Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday to Tenerife, as well as for the time you have taken to share your experience through TripAdvisor.
It is a delight for our team to know that you have appreciated our exclusive facilities created for each of our guests to find their made-to-measure experience. In addition we genuinely appreciate your kind words about our staff’s aim at the Red Level, since day by day we effort to give to our guests a unique experience. We are delight to read that you truly enjoyed our facilities and rooms, which original design seeks to give our guests a peaceful and relaxing environment. Regarding our pool service, we are glad to read that the service that we provide were to your liking, you may rest assured that I will forward your kind compliments about our service of excellence to the rest of the team, who will be glad to know that our aim to service was appreciated. Once again, we appreciate your kind words about our service and resort, which is always a pleasure to read.
We are looking forward welcoming you back for your next holiday.
Kind regards,

Beatriz Ávila
Red Level Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Just came back from an amazing stay at the Red Level of this property. We wanted a relaxing break from work in an adults-only environment, and that's exactly what we got. Great room (albeit it a bit dark and the lighting system was way too complicated), excellent food, lovely Red Level-only pool and a small but charming black sand beach. We did the Red Level half board, which included breakfast (Red-Level specific breakfast buffet) and a la carte dinners at our choice of restaurants. Stand outs included Duo (fine dining side), Fish Market and La Terrace. The Fish Market in particular is not featured prominently on the website, and it's a pity, as it was a truly amazing meal of very fresh fish, perfectly prepared. Oasis grill paella was also solid. Asian restaurat was ok, but not memorable--especially if you're familiar with Chinese and Japanese cuisine. The a la carte prices were quite high, but the red-level half-board ended up being a good investment. The Red Level breakfast had a beautiful view and very chill music. Great way to start the day.

Service was generally professional and enthusiastic without being obsequious. With that said, it was also somewhat uneven--the Oasis service was painfully slow, and the pool service at the Red Level pool was hit or miss, and didn't exactly match the description on the website--no scented towels, no sunglass cleaning (unless you asked specifically). A lot of the staff were students in training. Still, overall, these are quibbles. Service was quite good.

We arrived at the resort very late in the evening and the red level check-in was closed. The main check-in did a great job, and had a cold dinner on order for us in our room, which we greatly appreciated. Similarly, we had a late afternoon flight the day we checked out, and really appreciated that they offered us a courtesy room at no charge. This allowed us to lounge by the pool until the last minute, then shower and change for our ride to the airport. Really nice touch that allowed us to enjoy our stay until the very end. These small details mean a lot.

We really enjoyed the grounds of the hotel, and did enjoy a good walk on the seafront promenade both to the nearby town of Alcala as well as a longer hike to Puerto de Santiago in the opposite direction. Alcala is not particularly memorable, but we did like the seafront and the open air market on Monday. It was also handy to hit the supermarket for snacks and the pharmacy for more sunscreen. Next time, we'll check out the dive shop in town, as we heard good things.

Wifi at the hotel was fast enough and included. Our bed was massive and insanely comfortable. Did a Bali bed one day (Red Level gets you a discount, but still not cheap) and it was a full rock star experience.

The only more serious complaint is that they'd apparently recently changed their software, so guests on "Red-Level half board" were not getting the right charges at the a la carte restaurants for dinner. Rather, they were getting the regular half-board charges of 30% off at the a la carte restaurants. We noticed this one night and were told at the restaurant that it was correct. Asked again the next morning at red level reception and they fixed it. But, the full charge showed up again on the final bill. They corrected it again, but only because we noticed it. They did graciously buy us a drink after we'd checked out to apologize for the oversight, but still....they need to get their act together and not have guests worried about getting charged the right amount.

Overall, it was a memorable experience. Our goal was adults-only relaxation and that's exactly what we got in a soothing, sophisticated environment with great food, correct service, great pools and a lovely beach. We'll be back.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Marcus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz_AVI, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear COOter,

Thank you for selecting Red Level Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday in Tenerife as well as for sharing your review.

It is heartily a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a relaxing and memorable stay. We are very glad to know that our rooms, facilities and specially our culinary experience have exceeded your expectations since our guests’ satisfaction is our most important objective.
In addition, we truly appreciate your kind comments about our gastronomic offer at the Fish Market restaurant and the Bali beds, as we daily strive and improve in order to provide you with unique experiences. However, we regret if some aspects of our service were not of your liking; specially regarding the comments about the services that we provide by the pool, the culinary experience at the Nami restaurant and problems that we experienced with our new system. I would like to assure you that your comments have already been forwarded to our team, since it was not in our intention in any way to give our guests the perception you described. For us, a memorable stay for our guests is our principal goal.
We hope to welcome you soon for your next holiday in Tenerife.
Kind regards,

Beatriz Ávila,
Red Level Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

My wife and I recently returned from our second stay at this hotel. We again chose the Red Level Adults only section. From our initial welcome by Mario Slimane (the Reception Manager) to our farewell everything was wonderful. You always wonder if a second visit would spoil things but in this case it was even better. All of the staff are excellent and strive to meet your every need always greeting you with a smile and putting their hand over their heart - a lovely gesture. All the staff were great but if I could just single out Mario, Rosanna, Alex for special mention. We stayed in room 4060 and had a wonderful view. We are already planning our 2018 trip back!

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank catmum67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz_AVI, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear catmum67,

Thank you for your preference in selecting Red Level Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday and for sharing your detailed review through TripAdvisor.

It is a great pleasure to know that we were able to satisfy you in every aspect of your stay once again, as our guests’ satisfaction is our most important goal. We are glad to read that on your second visit, our exclusive facilities and our staff’s dedication to a service of excellence were to your liking, providing you with a memorable holiday. Also you may rest assured that I will forward your kind compliments about our service of excellence to the rest of the team, specially to Mario, Rosanna and Alex, who will be glad to know that our aim to service was appreciated.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Red Level Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards,

Beatriz Ávila,
Red Level Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 10 days and was looked after like a queen ! From the scenery to the food to the service I couldn't be happier ! The liquid garden and the terrace restaurant was impeccable! This stay was made so special cause of the staff the staff here make this hotel in particular, Vero and Beatriz ! With this combination of 2 amazing staff red level has the best arrive and by far the best staff going in the whole hotel ! If only every hotel could have these 2 ladies as they make your stay so comfortable more like a home away from home ! The room was perfect the views are just magical ! The best tip I can offer anyone is just to switch off and enjoy it here ! Money well spent !

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mwahhhxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beatriz_AVI, Red Level Director at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear mwahhhxxxx,

Thank you for selecting Red Level Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday in Tenerife as well as for sharing your review.

It is heartily a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a relaxing and memorable stay. We are very glad to know that our rooms, as well as our facilities have exceeded your expectations since our guests’ satisfaction is our most important objective. In addition, we truly appreciate your kind comments about our restaurants Liquid Garden and La Terrace, as we daily strive and improve in order to provide you with unique culinary experiences. It is also a pleasure to read such positive feedback from our staff, which serves as a great motivator to our team. It shows them that their passion and efforts to provide exceptional service are appreciated by those who receive it.
We hope to welcome you soon for your next holiday in Tenerife.
Kind regards,

Beatriz Ávila,
Red Level Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews