We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allegro Isora(Playa de la Arena)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 55% below average rates

The price you found is 55% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ona El Marques(Santiago del Teide)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Sun Resort(Los Gigantes)
US$225
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Ritz-Carlton, Abama(Guia de Isora)
US$329
US$263
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,349)
Filter reviews
1,349 results
Traveller rating
1,065
181
62
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,065
181
62
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelthe main hotelterrace restauranttapasluxury packageliquid loungechateaubriandclarins toiletriesboutique hotelduo fine diningbutler servicewhirlpool bathcold towelspillow menucocktail hourfruit kebabsnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
524 - 529 of 1,349 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2015

I had booked thel red level service and the hotel did keep its promises. Very friendly staff, efficient service, nice room with terrace and jacuzzi. The resort's facilities are absolutely comprehensive and the variety of restaurants and bars covers almost any taste. A definite bonus - a couple of restaurants are "adults only" which make for peaceful dinners. The Red Level Pool provides also a "splash-free" swimming opportunity and the service rivals the best beach clubs.

Room Tip: Choose the Red Level Package and you will have the best available rooms
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joachim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Red Level Manager at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear Mr. Joachim G,

Thank you for sharing your comments at TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the peaceful and tranquil atmosphere of Red Level's adults only facilities, as we strive yo create new experiences for our guests to enjoy their made-to-measure experience. In addition, your compliments on our La Terrace and Liquid Garden restaurants are highly appreciated.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Best regards,

Ana Goti
Red Level Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the red level at gran melia hotel in Tenerife and I can honestly say it was the best hotel we have stayed in, the staff in red level were great, friendly and caring highly recommended, thank you red level team for making it so special.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank valerieb410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Red Level Manager at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear Ms. valerieb410,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review of our Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.

It is truly a pleasure for all of our team to receive such positive and motivating comments regarding your experience with us, as they encourage us to keep working with the same service philosphy and provide our guests with new and surprising experiences at Red Level.

We hope to welcome you soon to Tenerife.
Best regards,

Ana Goti
Red Level Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

We visited this hotel in October, and were generally very impressed - we would definitely return again.

The general hotel is huge, with a smaller red level section exclusively for use by the red level guests - although there isn't much stopping the odd non-red level guest from walking in. The common areas - i.e for both red level and non red level - are excellent. Most of the restaurants are in this area, around a large open section with seats and fountains.
Food was superb - our flight was delayed so we arrived at around 10pm. The buffet restaurant (Pangea) was still open so we went there for some food and it was excellent. Tuna cooked in front of you, and a massive selection of hot and cold food all of which was delicious. Leagues above the last buffer hotel food I had (Turkey last year) - this is how it should be done.

Other restaurants were as good or better - the Japanese one was probably the best. Duo was great - although there seemed to be a strange abundance of mash potato in the fine dining one.

Pools were great and temperature is perfect - not cold enough that you're edging in an inch at a time but cool enough to be refreshing.

Sunbeds in the red level were well spaced and comfortable.

Gym was pretty small, but adequate.

Room was generally excellent - spacious, with a bathroom containing bath and shower. The double bed was huge - in fact, a little too big if anything. TV was a little random - there were quite a few English channels but most were not available most of the time for some odd reason. BBC World gets a tad repetitive.

The red level experience is done very well. As well as having your own area of the hotel, it also makes a difference elsewhere - Pangea has outside seating by a large fish pond, and the seats down by the water were for red level guests. Overall, although it wasn't a particularly cheap stay - we did feel we got what we'd paid for.

There were a few negatives though, which although fairly minor means it wasn't a perfect stay.

We paid for a room a jacuzzi bath on the terrace. However, because our room was at the end of a corridor - and the corridor then turned a corner and became "open" (i.e. no walls) as it walked past our terrace - it meant that anybody walking along that corridor would be met with a view of us having a jacuzzi bath. A simple screen of some kind would have made a world of difference - and meant that we didn't need to construct a strange barrier with the outside chairs / cushions.

The service in the restaurants was.... random. The red level has it's own breakfast area (and the same place can be used for lunch and for complimentary evening drinks and snacks) - but there are no table numbers. Sometimes the waiters would seem to forget to take your order. Sometimes they would take your order, and then bring you bread - but sometimes not. Often, they would try and deliver food to 2 or 3 tables before finding the right one. Bizarre.
Service in other restaurants was also a bit variable. The Terrace was unbelievable slow. Initially it seemed good - "not hurried and relaxing" I commented to my girlfriend. However, an hour and a half later - when all we'd eaten was a starter - it had gone somewhat beyond "not hurried". When our food did turn up (chateaubriand) our "rare" steak was completely raw in the middle - the waiter commented on that when cutting it up before we even tried it. It went back and - fortunately - was replaced quite quickly, although still two hours after we'd first arrived. I ordered dessert too, and in total our meal took around three hours - which was simply too long, and ruined the experience a bit. Having said that, the food was excellent (including the replaced main course). Oh - one odd thing though was that the side dishes we ordered (chips and asparagus) came as if they were a single portion. Ok, they were "proper" chips - i.e. fat and cooked multiple times - but there were.... 6 of them. Between two of us. Bizarre.

On the subject of restaurants - when we arrived we were told "book by 3pm each day to make sure you get a reservation". When you try that, you learn quickly that - actually - most of the restaurants are closed for two days of the week! Obviously the days are staggered, but also obviously when one has been closed for two days the next day fills up quickly and it's way too late to book on the day. I advise you to decide where you want to eat fairly early on in your stay and book for the week.

The most annoying aspect of the stay was that when your room is serviced, the maid will put the leaflets for "Spa treatments" (which are chargeable obviously) on the bed, prominently displayed. This was simply tacky in-your-face advertising which I really don't expect in my room. We eventually hid the leaflet which seemed to do the trick - although if I had been on my own I would have simply binned it and assumed that got the message across.

When we left, we got a summary of our bill at 11am an hour before checkout and asked for a taxi to be arranged for 4pm. At checkout an hour later, we confirmed that request. At 4pm - no taxi, and the staff were asking us if we were waiting for a taxi or an airport transfer (i.e. one of their cars) which kind of proved they hadn't ordered the taxi. After a few phone calls, it turned out the taxi company were now busy (surprising at such short notice eh?) and we left 20 mins later than we planned to. On the other hand, the taxi driver didn't hang about though and we arrived at the airport in plenty of time.

I know my list of negative points is much longer than the positive ones, but that is not a reflection of the hotel. They were minor niggles which were frustrating mostly because it seemed most of them could be solved very easily. But it didn't change the fact that this was an excellent hotel - far better than I expected it to be in fact - and I would be surprised if we do not return to it at some point in the next few years.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dave964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Red Level Manager at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear Mr. Dave964,

Firstly we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday at Tenerife, as well as for the time you have taken to share your comments with us and with the travelers at TripAdvisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed an overall pleasant holiday, although we regret if some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. You may rest assured that your comments have already been forwarded to our restaurants' staff, as well as to our front desk team, so they can analyze your experience and take any necessary measure to guarantee that similar situations are not a cause of dissatisfaction for our guests in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Kind regards,

Ana Goti
Red Level Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

First class hotel.

Plenty of high quality restaurants to chose from. We didn't find any restaurants in the outside vicinity so chose to eat at the hotel as they was a good choice of different styles of food.

The staff were always attentive and made it feel that they were genuinely there to make your holiday as good as possible. We arrived at the main hotel reception and chose to walk around to the Red Level private entrance, where the butler was waiting on the pavement to take our bags and welcome us into the hotel.

If there was one downside I expected the Red Level to feel a little more exclusive and it did feel that they were trying to cram as many people in as possible - around the pool the sun loungers were only a foot or so apart.

I doubt you would be disappointed by this hotel overall.

Room Tip: Red Level partial sea view was a cost effective option over the full sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Red Level Manager at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travelers at TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed a lovely holiday with us. Furthermore your compliments on our gastronomic offer are highly appreciated and we are glad to know that the service provided by our team met your expectations.

We hope to welcome you soon to Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora.
Best regards,

Ana Goti
Red Level Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The location is great, not too far from the south airport and secluded. The small village of Alcala adjoins, you can walk in 15 minutes. This appeals to some of us as it has six restaurants well worth a visit and they have genuine local food and atmosphere. The hotel is magnificent with an enormous freeform clean saltwater poll and some freshwater ones as well. We go to Red Level, which is adults only and has its own very large, clean, quiet pool. The in house restaurants are good quality and Red Level has the Terrasse which is true fine dining. The quality of the building, environment and staff make this excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alistair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana_Goti, Red Level Manager at RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2015

Dear Mr. alistair H,

Thank you for selecting Red Level at Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora for your holiday.

We are glad to know that our La Terrace restaurant was to your liking, as well as the exclusive Red Level facilities, specially created for our guests to enjoy a unique and relaxing atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you soon to Tenerife.
Kind regards,

Ana Goti
Red Level Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews