We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Essence Cafe and Bar
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Feilding
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 26 February 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely dinner at Essence, excellent service, nice setting and delicious food! Recommend the venison and deconstructed banoffee pie. The chicken caesar salad looked really good too - I'll be back to try that next time.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank SusanneT230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2021

Most Fridays Feilding has midday stock sales in yards close by to this cafe. The smell is very noticeable outside and even whiffs inside.
However we had a very enjoyable lunch on Friday. The servings were a bit "large" but the flavors were excellent.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Drallom2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2021

My wife and I both enjoyed an excellent dinner along with great staff table service that you would expect to find in a top city restaurant.
Our table server was attentive and offered suggestions on the wines and how I may like to have my venison cooked. Great service!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank esper4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2020 via mobile

Avoid. Waited one our for Xmas lunch then told by waitress she had lost our order! She had served our drinks 50 mins before and never returned to check on us. Avoid

Date of visit: December 2020
2  Thank P854
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2020

We had been to this restaurant several times before and enjoyed it but not this time. We were the only table in the restaurant when we arrived and were seated up by the bar. Unfortunately we had to deal with quite a lot of noise, including coffees being made on a machine which was interesting as there were no other tables. Despite the fact that there were 3 waiting staff, 1 staff member took our drink orders then prepared the drinks and served them then came back for the food order. This took quite a long time. Most importantly, the food was not as good as we had experienced previously. The whitebait fritter was only 1 and my husband was hungry afterwards. I had pork belly and 50% of my plate was mashed potato. We had a creme brûlée that was not well made with ice cream that seemed to be of the supermarket variety. Lastly, although our main waitress was pleasant enough, the two that helped serve the mains didn't smile and 'slapped' our dishes down on he table. When we left, no one asked us how our meal was? If they had, I wouldn't have written this review. 2 people in our group of 6 were having birthdays so it was supposed to be a happy time. Instead it was disappointing.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michmene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Essence Cafe and Bar also viewed

Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Feilding, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Essence Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.