We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
164
175
49
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
175
49
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingold buildingswimming poolpalacio dagreat poolfree parkinglarge bathroomsuperior roomspent two nightscomfortable bedcommon areasvery nice hoteldifferent areaspalaceschistpauloportugal
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

A charming and helpful welcome by the staff who then led us to our wonderfully large and elegantly decorated room with an enormous bathroom and all conveniences. Lovely salons and not to be missed is the beautiful historic dining room with charming painted scenes. There is also a pleasant terrasse for al fresco meals and another dining option in the pleasant bar, a glassed in veranda overlooking the pretty topiary garden and the swimming pool. Good food and a wonderfully comfortable and restful getaway! We had a very happy time there. Sincerely -Annabelle, Comtesse de La Panouse

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deLaPanouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M9698CVpauloc, Gerente geral at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Comtesse de la Panouse,
Thank you so much for your wonderfull comments about your recent stay with us. It was an honour to welcome you.
I hope we can have the pleasure of your visit in the near future.
Sincreley yours,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Old building, well maintained, with delightful gardens. We really felt in historical place. Breakfast area has excellent views and has a tarrace.
Restaurant is exquisite in it´s decoration! They kept original wood panels and frescoes. Food is tasty.
Nice common areas in the hotel. Room was spacious.
Staff was very attentive.
There is a free parking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M9698CVpauloc, Gerente geral at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Palácio da Lousã. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and the property.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

This place is a good choice to escape from the noise and hurrying of the vibrant university town of Coimbra.
Take a 30 minutes drive by green hilly lonesome countryside of inner Portugal and arrive at a rural and non touristic little town .
The palace hotel was opened 12 years ago.
Unfortunately there seem to be no attempt to keep the outside of the place in a continual restoration. The inner part is impressive.
Congratulations for the supporting staff at the reception:
We booked a standard room in the new wing- neatly room. Unfortunately the window was in a bad condition, couldn't be closed properly, rough wind mad strong noise.
Our complaint was solved with an upgrade to a superior room as it was impossible to fix the mechanism of the windows handle.
Thanks a lot.
We enjoyed a very good meal in the restaurant- pay attention that the quantity is small, the quality very good.
For these reasons 4 / 5 points are ok.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TripHeryLanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M9698CVpauloc, Gerente geral at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your recent visit to Palácio da Lousã and for your comments. I believe we solved the problem with the window handle. And definetely look up at the portions at our restaurant, maintaining the quality of course.
Over all we are pleased to know you enjoyed the area and our property.
Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We had a great stay at Palacio da Lousa. First Paulo the manager and his staff were so helpful. We wanted to hike to the Schist villages and he had his staff get maps for us and he shared with us very helpful information. He also provided helpful information for Pinhao were we were next headed.

In addition the grounds and pool are beautiful and so was our room. We were so pleased with the common sitting areas inside. They were lovely. Breakfast was also amazing. They have the local honey at breakfast which was great and we bought some there to take home.

They also have a fabulous masseuse (Suzanne) and both my husband and I had a wonderful massage. She does Lomi Lomi but she sensed I needed something different and she did a chinese massage for me instead. It was the best massage I ever had.

We highly recommend Palacio da Lousa for a place to stay in Portugal.

Room Tip: We had room 10 and loved it.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OceanfrontBanyanTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M9698CVpauloc, Gerente geral at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your comments about our property. It's very good to have this kind of feedback and detail, because only with it we can really know if our efforts were the correct ones and in the proper quantity. A huge part of our job is to pamper our guests and create conditions for them to feel at home away from home. It's not an easy task, it's not always achieved, but when we are informed that our efforts were appreciated and conducted to a good experience, there is nothing better.
Thank you so much. We hope to welcome you again.
Sincerely yours,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

I loved this hotel, from the fantastic views and scenery to the staff who is really friendly you can't find a better place to stay and enjoy the peace and quiet this place has to offer. I absolutely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mariana_AS_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M9698CVpauloc, Gerente geral at Palacio da Lousa Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your excellent comments about your recent stay in Palácio da Lousã. We are vey pleased and proud to hear that your stay was wonderful.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
The General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews