We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but expensive”

Golden Unicorn Chinese Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #17 of 94 Restaurants in Maroubra
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here during Chinese New Year, where they added $10 to price of every dish. $38 for bowl of veg and mushroom was a bit much. Tasty food though, good service, but value was not there. Dated atmosphere and food.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R987JVgaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2021 via mobile

Friendly staff. Quick food service. ordered 4 dishes. Chicken feet, bbq pork cake and a couple of steamed dishes. Beautiful chinese tea. Nice atmosphere. Humble decor. Informative servers. Located in the heart of Maroubra. free parking about 1000 metres away otherwise paid parking and limited spots closer by. Paid around $40. Food is average to good tasting but my tastebuds have changed alot over the last couple of years! I enjoyed it overall.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank EM_PressAries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020

Climb the stairs to a large room with tables covered in crisp whit tablecloth. There would have been 4 tables occupied at most at 6.30pm on a Saturday evening so many empty tables we were given the table closest to the top of stairs and the service desk . There were many staff and lots of attention
We ordered the steamed scallops with ginger sauce DELICIOUS . After this it was a little ordinary . This place is known locally for its yum cha so we will go back for a Sunday brunch

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank caharinedelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

Four of us for a Saturday Yum Cha Lunch.

All very nice, except for a couple of dishes we ordered from the regular menu … the salt and pepper squid was like boot leather, and a fried chicken dish was stringy and very tough.

The place was packed with many Chinese (who obviously enjoyed what they were eating).

We did enjoy the Yum Cha dishes, but not sure we would go back. The service was good, but we found their prices to be quite expensive.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019

Terrible experience...food is bad and we can live with it, but one mainland lady pushing the dimsum kart said she wouldnt serve me because i am wearing a t-shirt with the words "liberate hong kong, revolution of our time"...avoid at all cost...our whole table of guests feel disgusted and lost all appetite...if you dont serve, you may as well just close the business

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Golden Unicorn Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Unicorn Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.