We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
125
11
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
11
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing hostssuperb cuisinenative birdspohutukawa treehoney moonsnapperhauraki gulfwonderful weekendpod of dolphinswhite sand beachbridal suitelittle thingsmagical weddingminute ferry ridenight staystayed here for nightscomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Gorgeous setting, on the beach with bush backdrop. The "Courtyard" room we stayed in was very average and basic (could do with more interior flair and bathroom tiles need work - smelt damp) but hospitality from the new Irish managers, Karena and Luke was fantastic. Karena is a superb cook with amazing food and lovely extra touch's and Luke was a great host. Nothing was too much trouble and any request greeted with a smile. Would definitely recommend for a short break away from the madness of city life and definitely book a beachfront room if within budget.

Room Tip: Book a room with seaview if in your budget to make the most of your experience.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyD2669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luke_and_karina, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you so much Wendy, it was a pleasure to have you and Greg over the weekend!
We are both flattered that you enjoyed our casual but attentive approach to customer service. It gives us reassurance on our new adventure here at the beach house, Kawau Island. We agree the "Courtyard" room is in need of some vitality and will be refurbished in the coming few months. We look forward to being your 'go to' escape... until then. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Our experience at the beach house was a huge disappointment, we paid so much for our room and it was our honeymoon, the owners turned up the second morning, and proceeded to nail the deck, use a generator, and have a digger digging up the beach, we had to leave earlier as the whole experience was ruined for us. Anyone who knows anything about customer service would never think this was acceptable, they never told us this was happening, or how long it would go on for.
The restaurant was great - food was delicious. The managers Alan and Vicky were great, they tried their best considering.
The room was nice, we had a beach front room, but there was no mosquito screens and the room was very hot, and the wifi wasn't great.
The beach house would have been nice if the owners hadn't treated us with such disrespect, and charged us full price. Our honeymoon was completely ruined, and it was definitely not worth the money, and they haven't even bothered to reply to my email about how disrespected we felt.
Be warned.
P.S Gary, please don't try to justify this review, it is fair and we were given no apology from you.

Room Tip: There isn't much to do but relax, which would have been lovely if we were given the chance too.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights to celebrate my partners 40th birthday. We loved it and will never forget it.
Alan and Vicky are great (natural and very experienced) hosts - and just really good humans. The setting is crazy beautiful, weka running around the complex, easy walks through pristine NZ bush to the wallabies and the views. Rooms are a tasteful blend of luxury and beach house. There is everything you need on the beach to splash about in the sheltered lagoon in the sun. Be warned - you will need to work off the food - Alan is an awesome chef often seen visiting the tables to make sure everything is just right and according to your preference.
Island escape just down the road.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

No chandeliers or marble floors, but absolute tranquility with warm and helpful hosts and superb cuisine.
Lovely beach to walk and safe swimming. Bush walk right on hand with native birds for company.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank davemarg2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Visited restaurant for dinner. Food was delicious and service great. Very relaxing atmosphere. We had the eye fillet..cooked to perfection and fish (snapper)..good size portions. Thanks for a great evening

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews