We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and setting”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

My partner and I visited The Beach House as part of a Flight and Lunch deal in conjunction with Auckland Seaplanes.

Upon arriving, our host greeted is on the beach and took us up to the Beach House. We chose a table outside under the palm trees with a stunning view over the beach.

The food was totally amazing and some of the best I've had in Auckland. The wine list was comprehensive, and well priced. The host was very attentive and looked after us well.

The facilities at the Beach House were very clean, modern and welcoming. Next time I'll be staying for a few days to relax and unwind.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016

Just spent one night at this brilliant location. Really relaxing

The Guys looked after us and nothing was a problem from the moment we arrived.

This small lodge is perfectly set right on the beach and you can pass you day away just enjoying the view in the courtyard (see photos). Beach is lovely and there is plenty to explore in the hills. Or jump on the ferry and explore the island.

Meals were great and plenty of variety in the bar.

This is a quiet relaxing lodge and while worth a visit to unwind.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had a night at the Beach House as a special celebration. Per met us at the jetty and made us feel extremely welcome. We had a lovely room up the hill with a deck overlooking the sea and the joy of a family of Weka to watch as well. While it wasn't a brilliant day weather wise, we were able to walk along the beach and up to the top of the island and could see all the way to Great Barrier Island.
The accommodation was superb, with a wonderfully comfy bed (monogrammed sheets!) and excellent bathroom. We had a beautiful dinner - choice of 3 mains and desserts, and all with top quality ingredients, many home grown.
We wish Per and Bevan all the very best in their venture and would recommend the Beach House to anyone wanting a very special time away.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk a lot of steps up the hill, ask for a room on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ancdefgh987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

You locals are in for a treat ......Chef Beven larger than life made me the best rice risotto with salmon. The desserts are to die for in fact all the food was cooked to perfection.
If you love good food and excellent selection of wine this is the please to come. The walks are beautiful swimming even if the weather doesn't play along there always thing to do. Per makes you feal right at home we have booked back again and looking forward to it. For those not in the know it is an Island so please give you hosts plenty of notice if you suffer from food alleges. Bevan and Per thank you for making us us feal so very welcome even if I was under the weather. We are both looking forward to our return in April 2017. Roberta and Paul

Room Tip: Sea views, a dozen steps right onto the beach from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1111Roberta1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

what a beautiful setting as you walk up the wharf after being greeted personally you feel like you are somewhere very special, the sheltered courtyard overlooking the bay with scattered furniture to relax on
the rooms are a little on the tired side but new owners are redecorating and the bed was very comfortable
the food is generous and the attention and service was wonderful, throughout our stay everything was taken care of and we felt relaxed and looked after
as a place to relax and unwind that is so accessible but feels a million miles from any where we would recommend it highly
the dolphins were an added bonus

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kawau Island
24.1 km away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
174 reviews
27.5 km away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
334 reviews
10.0 km away
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
Tahi Lodge - Matakana Coast
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
Takatu Lodge & Vineyard
#2 of 9 in Matakana
74 reviews
12.1 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
134 reviews
11.1 km away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Kawau Island

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Address: 1 Vivian bay, Auckland, Kawau Island 0920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kawau Island
Price Range: $322 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House on Kawau Island is a unique slice of New Zealand paradise combining the best of the classic Kiwi Bach experience with some laid back luxury. Truly a place apart, positioned on the edge of the golden sands and serene waters of Vivian Bay, under the spreading branches of an ancient Pohutukawa, The Beach House is in perfect harmony with its stunning natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing