We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
126
11
5
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
11
5
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superb cuisine amazing hosts native birds honey moon pohutukawa tree snapper wonderful weekend hauraki gulf relaxing stay bridal suite magical wedding little things city life minute ferry ride night stay stayed here for nights accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Just spent one night at this brilliant location. Really relaxing

The Guys looked after us and nothing was a problem from the moment we arrived.

This small lodge is perfectly set right on the beach and you can pass you day away just enjoying the view in the courtyard (see photos). Beach is lovely and there is plenty to explore in the hills. Or jump on the ferry and explore the island.

Meals were great and plenty of variety in the bar.

This is a quiet relaxing lodge and while worth a visit to unwind.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GM007_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We had a night at the Beach House as a special celebration. Per met us at the jetty and made us feel extremely welcome. We had a lovely room up the hill with a deck overlooking the sea and the joy of a family of Weka to watch as well. While it wasn't a brilliant day weather wise, we were able to walk along the beach and up to the top of the island and could see all the way to Great Barrier Island.
The accommodation was superb, with a wonderfully comfy bed (monogrammed sheets!) and excellent bathroom. We had a beautiful dinner - choice of 3 mains and desserts, and all with top quality ingredients, many home grown.
We wish Per and Bevan all the very best in their venture and would recommend the Beach House to anyone wanting a very special time away.

Room tip: If you don't want to walk a lot of steps up the hill, ask for a room on the beach side.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ancdefgh987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

You locals are in for a treat ......Chef Beven larger than life made me the best rice risotto with salmon. The desserts are to die for in fact all the food was cooked to perfection.
If you love good food and excellent selection of wine this is the please to come. The walks are beautiful swimming even if the weather doesn't play along there always thing to do. Per makes you feal right at home we have booked back again and looking forward to it. For those not in the know it is an Island so please give you hosts plenty of notice if you suffer from food alleges. Bevan and Per thank you for making us us feal so very welcome even if I was under the weather. We are both looking forward to our return in April 2017. Roberta and Paul

Room tip: Sea views, a dozen steps right onto the beach from your room
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1111Roberta1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

what a beautiful setting as you walk up the wharf after being greeted personally you feel like you are somewhere very special, the sheltered courtyard overlooking the bay with scattered furniture to relax on
the rooms are a little on the tired side but new owners are redecorating and the bed was very comfortable
the food is generous and the attention and service was wonderful, throughout our stay everything was taken care of and we felt relaxed and looked after
as a place to relax and unwind that is so accessible but feels a million miles from any where we would recommend it highly
the dolphins were an added bonus

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on our way to the Bay of Islands and wished we had stayed longer despite the weather being" uncooperative " it is well worth while visiting the Mansion house in the stay again something we regretted not doing. The studio rooms are spacious with a most comfortable bed. Views and seating areas are also attractive. Per and Bevan have just started here and should do well. Dinner was outstanding and the breakfast excellent although it is a shame that drinks need to be charged separately. This is not a cheap stay and will cost up to $700 a day for two ,if you don't bring some provisions. However it is worth it for an almost tropical stay in New Zealand! ( in summer)

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews