We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality ...you need to visit”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality ...you need to visit”
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Only 30 mins out of Auckland by ferry . Beautiful location ,stunning views ;-Kayaks beach, paddle board and walks .Or just recline on private loungers and watch the sun rise. Great wild life; Little blue penguins and weka . Food is GREAT talented chef ...
oh and an open fire ,good venue for quiet time , or weddings or meeting venue for thinking and creative planning times .

Room Tip: rooms all lovely aspect ....sea and pohutakawa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eyelash2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevanCox, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 21 September 2016
Hello Fiona

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it.

It was a pleasure that The Beach House was able to offer you the relaxing night away that you were seeking. It is truly a beautiful location and we are pleased that you enjoyed our food choices in front of the open fire.

We look forward to hosting you here again in the future, be it for leisure or business.

Kind Regards
Bevan & Per - Lodge Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
63
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The Beach House is just gorgeous and Katie and Zeyn are the most amazing hosts. Zeyn is a wonderful chef and the food he serves is fabulous. The location of The Beach House could not be better. The beach front rooms are just that and are beautiful. If you are looking for a quite weekend to unwind or spend some quality together, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 215DebR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Kawau island is an undiscovered gem. Arriving by water taxi and turning the corner into Vivian bay and seeing the beach house, encased by palms was a sight for sore eyes. Katie was waiting for us as soon as we embarked and check in was a breeze. Mid winter, clear water and white sand made us feel like we were a million miles away. The room was beautifully decorated and comfy. We were staying in a beach front King, with its own private deck and loungers. A sofa, table and mini kitchen ( no cooking facilities) gave the room extra space. Dinner was served in the lounge, were you could relax with drinks next to the open fire. Food was delightful and elegantly served. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s9gudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevanCox, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 21 September 2016
Hello s9gudgeon

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it.

It was a pleasure that The Beach House was able to offer you the relaxing getaway that you were seeking, and that you enjoyed our little piece of paradise here in Vivian Bay, Kawau Island.

Per & I have just taken over at The Beach house from Katie & Zeyn, and we look forward to hosting you here again in the future.

Kind Regards
Bevan & Per - Lodge Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Honestly one of the best weekends of my life. The location was perfection and Katie and Zeyn's attentive yet relaxed approach instantly put us at ease. The food was heavenly and the views were to die for. I've been raving about The Beach House to friends and family and would definitely recommend it for that special weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BevanCox, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 21 September 2016
Hello Vicky J

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it.

It was a pleasure that The Beach House was able to offer you the relaxing weekend you were seeking.

Per & I have just taken over at The Beach house from Katie & Zeyn, and we look forward to hosting you here again in the future.

Kind Regards
Bevan & Per - Lodge Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

Hi Katie and Zayn,

Sorry I didn't get to say goodbye to you two properly as I had to run to my water taxi!

I really enjoyed my stay there. The view was awesome and the linen in the room was very very comfortable.

Hopefully I will come back with my hubby next time!

Cheers,
Vivian

Stayed April 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vivian X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeynbuksh, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 29 April 2016
Hi Vivian

Thank you for staying with us. It was our pleasure to upgrade you and glad you enjoyed your stay here.

Will see you back here with your husband in the near future.

Thank you for reviewing us.

Zeyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kawau Island
10.5 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
145 reviews
24.1 km away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
11.1 km away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
110 reviews
25.0 km away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
135 reviews
10.6 km away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 1 Vivian bay, Kawau Island 0920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kawau Island
Price range (per night): $274 - $339
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House on Kawau Island is a unique slice of New Zealand paradise combining the best of the classic Kiwi Bach experience with some laid back luxury. Truly a place apart, positioned on the edge of the golden sands and serene waters of Vivian Bay, under the spreading branches of an ancient Pohutukawa, The Beach House is in perfect harmony with its stunning natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing