We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A divine time”
Review of The Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A divine time”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Relax and feel pampered with five star service and exquisite food. Our hosts were expert at making us welcome and ensuring a memorable stay. Walking, canoeing and fishing were enjoyed as much as reading in the sun in very private surroundings.

Will be back, thank you Katie and Zeyn!

Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank elcraigio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeynbuksh, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 29 April 2016
Hi elcraigio

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it.

It was a pleasure to host you at this beautiful spot in Vivian Bay and making your time here memorable. Our highest priority.

Certainly will see you soon.

Zeyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
63
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2016

My son and girlfriend stayed here for Easter 2016, They had a garden view room that was nice and private. The room was lovely, clean and tidy. They had tea and coffee making facilities in the room A free cooked breakfast every morning was included.
The staff were amazing. Katie even booked their boat trip to and from the mainland.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeynbuksh, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 29 April 2016
Hi Sandy075

Thank you very much for your review on behalf of your son + partner.

We hope to see all of you here for a nights stay or even just a cup of coffee.

Thanks again

Zeyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland new Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Couldn't fault this place. Katie and Zeyn were amazing hosts. They managed to be there whenever we wanted anything. Food was amazing. Fresh and beautifully prepared. The rooms were spotless with nice touches such as flasks of sparkling water. The whole place had a laid back feel yet everything was incredibly comfortable. Loved it.

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rangirover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeynbuksh, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Hi rangirover

Thank you for the review.

We love adding in the little things to really boost our look. Our Puro filtered water being one of them. We spend a fair bit of time changing our daily menu and am glad you appreciated it.

We hope to see you again

Zeyn Buksh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as part of my fathers birthday celebration. what a wonderful location. You could easily spend an afternoon just sitting on the deck watching the boats go by! The staff were amazing, very friendly and accommodating, and the food delicious. We would love to return.

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MGPOROHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeynbuksh, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Hi MGPOROHO

We loved having the celebration take place at The Beach House. Our staff we happy to host a wonderful family and hope to see your return in the near future.

Thanks for the review.

Zeyn Buksh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2016

An amazing location, lovely staff but disappointing. The rooms are overpriced, were musty, small and some didn't even have a key available to lock the doors. Lacked the basics like a fridge.

The food was good quality - though the menu was small and limited

There is lots of potential here but it needs upgrading and attention

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kiwi572014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zeynbuksh, Manager at The Beach House, responded to this review, 1 April 2016
Hi Kiwi572014

Thank you for taking time to review The Beach House amongst the many hundreds that visit us.

We have passed on your concerns and are always developing the interiors and exteriors to enhance this beautiful setting on Vivian Bay, Kawau Island.

Hope to see you're return

Zeyn Buksh



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kawau Island
10.5 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
145 reviews
24.1 km away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
11.1 km away
Riverside Matakana
Riverside Matakana
#1 of 7 in Matakana
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Matakana Motel
Matakana Motel
#1 of 1 in Matakana
110 reviews
25.0 km away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
135 reviews
10.6 km away
The Salty Dog Inn
The Salty Dog Inn
#1 of 2 in Snells Beach
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House

Property: The Beach House
Address: 1 Vivian bay, Kawau Island 0920, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Kawau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kawau Island
Price range (per night): $274 - $339
Hotel Class:5 star — The Beach House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach House on Kawau Island is a unique slice of New Zealand paradise combining the best of the classic Kiwi Bach experience with some laid back luxury. Truly a place apart, positioned on the edge of the golden sands and serene waters of Vivian Bay, under the spreading branches of an ancient Pohutukawa, The Beach House is in perfect harmony with its stunning natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing