We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Dolphin Seafaris tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Maunganui
from US$20.63
More Info
from US$79.09
More Info
from US$79.09
More Info
from US$55.02
More Info
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
147
21
8
2
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
21
8
2
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an amazing experience pod of dolphins common dolphins saw dolphins hammerhead shark dolphin experience beautiful creatures dolphins including sea life natural environment knowledgeable crew great trip early start wet suits these guys bucket list highly recommend this tour
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2015

The dolphins danced for us.they surfed in the wake, They dived and swam and frolicked in the water. We saw some really young babies. We even saw a little bit of dolphin sex. This was a fabulous day out. The Dolphin Safari team gave us a day to remember. New Zealand law says "no" to swimming with the babies. Thanks Dolphin Safaris for respecting the dolphins and the law. And thanks to the dolphins for giving us a fabulous day out in the Bay of Plenty. Recommended.
PS the self centred whiners and moaners will never understand Respect -they think the world revolves around them.

Date of experience: March 2015
4  Thank ecotravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2015 via mobile

Boat great, weather brilliant, so why a con. They knew we were not going to be able to swim with dolphins from the start. Although we saw loads I came to swim not watch. They had small dolphins as part of the pod and accept you can't swim with them. So WHY is it still marketed as a swimming trip when it is just watching. Very expensive just to watch. I feel conned should have been honest before we set off the it would have been my decision to go watching rather than waiting until we cast off and were an hour into the trip

1  Thank Tich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphin S, Manager at Dolphin Seafaris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2015

We apologise that you believe that you were conned. Our aim on every trip is to get you as the customer in the water with the dolphins, and we do understand that it a disappointment when we are not able to. When there are calves present we are not permitted to swim under New Zealand law for their protection. As the dolphins are transitory through this area we are unaware of which particular pod is around on any given day until we find them so the crew were certainly not aware that swimming would not happen before the dolphins were found. Most of the time (on over 85% of trips) we find pods without calves and can get into the water. In addition, when calves are present we do not spend our total legally permitted time with the pod to allow further encounters to result in a swim if possible to maximise the swim possibility for the trip. I can assure you that you were in no way "conned", of course it is not in our control whether there are calves present or whether there are further pods in the area. This is a wild encounter and totally on the dolphins terms, swimming with these beautiful wild creatures is truly a privilege, not a right and we must adhere to the laws surrounding them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015

What an amazing experience!!! The captain (Cameron) and his crew are genuinely concerned with the happiness of their passengers. We saw a super pod of over 200 dolphins along with some babies. I'm going again for the third time in one week! An unforgettable experience. We even saw blue penguins!!

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank wolf_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

The captain, Cameron was really charismatic and made the trip interesting with his jokes and awesome sea life facts. We also saw an amazing superpod of Dolphins - hundreds of them frolicking in the sea - it was a majestic sight. Whilst we were not able to swim with the Dolphins as mums were carrying calves, the sights were incredible and something that will always be in the memory bank.

Thank you for a great experience

Date of experience: March 2015
2  Thank KateK1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2015

We saw a huge pod of 100+ bottle nose and sub orca dolphins.then some common dolphins on way home,not to forget the blue shark thrown in for good measure. a day we will never forget:)

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank Dailleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews