We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
161
6
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
161
6
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2019

Jim and Lorraine’s bed & breakfast is a simply home away from home by the sea. Situated a minutes stroll from Mount Maunganui beach right out of their back gate, we were able to hear the waves crashing as we slept - pure bliss.

Our room was comfortable clean and cosy, which is exactly what we needed after a busy few days in Queenstown. Jim greeted us and made us feel instantly at home. Nothing was too much trouble.

Their is no sea view from the bedrooms, but the guest lounge looks out over the beach - a wonderful view whilst tucking into Jim’s home cooked breakfast accompanied by a selection of fresh fruit, cereals, juices and as much tea and coffee as you can drink! We were even invited into their lounge to watch the international cricket on the TV during our stay!

Make sure you find the time to climb Mount Maunganui itself! A steep walk but the views are incredible. Borrow one of Jim and Lorraine’s boogie boards to enjoy some of the surf too!

As travellers from the UK, you would struggle to find a better summer holiday/seaside spot anywhere in Europe. My only complaint would be that 2 days and 2 nights wasn’t quite enough to soak up everything ‘The Mount’ had to offer.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gracieharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Hi Gracieharrison,
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and at beautiful Mount Maunganui. I agree with your comments about Mount Maunganui, it is hard to find a better place! Thanks for your lovely review, maybe you will be back.
Best regards
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

This place to stay was absolutely wonderful - we will be back!! Right on Mount Maunganui beach. Welcome at the door as we parked our car on the property. Cleanliness of the whole place made us feel very comfortabe as did very soothing toning of furnishings in our room & ensuite with super white bedding & towels. Filtered water, easily accessible free wifi & private courtyard for resting & contemplating!. Breakfast choices taken care of night before, financial matters taken care of quietly & no surprises here. Guest lounge one floor upstairs very accommodating with many choices of teas & coffee with oh-so-oh-so-comfortable seating. Excellent very full breakfasts on third level of house with very fresh fruit salad, home made bread, mueslies & coffee to die for!! as well as the view of Mount Maunganui beach & ships on the ocean Very peacefully located. Close to Mount Maunganui township & a walk around /up Mt Maunganui. We decided there was nothing that could be improved with this B & B. Such friendly, good-humoured, helpful but not over-pushy Hosts. We will certainly recommend Beachside to anyone coming from overseas or to our NZ friends/family. Thank you Jim & Lorraine for coming into our lives.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lobelia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Hi Lobelia2
You two were wonderful guests to have stay, and we are really looking forward to seeing you again when you return. You and J are certainly enjoying your retirement. So full of life and living. Thanks for your lovely review of our place. Glad you enjoyed it. See you soon.
Kind regards
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019

Located down a driveway on the beachside with other properties between it and the beach, the only sea view is from the third floor quest lounge & breakfast room (there are no quest rooms on this level). We were very disappointed as our room on the ground floor was very small & basic (I kept knocking my knees on the wooden bed frame) We were overlooked on both sides by neighbours so had no privacy and the bathroom was small, basic and needed a good clean as there was mould in the shower with dirt & dust on the floor PLUS it needed a new toilet seat as the one we had was very old and vile ! To hold the curtains together for privacy a dog clip was provided !!

Room tip: Would not stay here again - sorry !
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise4554
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2019

Hi Denise,
Thanks for your review; but we are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. You say not quite beachside; we chose the name as we are on the beach side of Oceanbeach Road. In other words you don’t have to cross the road to go to the beach.
Yes the room is small but we have never had complaints about the size before, guests prefer to relax in our Guest Lounge with lovely views rather than stay in the bedroom.
Between guests we always open the ensuite door (weather permitting) to let the breeze flow through the room. So dust and sand will blow in, particularly if there is a sea breeze. Rest assured that the floors are cleaned between guests. I was surprised that you found mould in the shower. I had to go down on my hands and knees and did find some under the sliding shower door rail.
We agree that the toilet seat does need replacing and has been done already. It wasn’t VILE, only discoloured by the sunlight and cleaning chemicals.
Regarding your privacy. All of the sections here used to have one house, but due to the popularity of Mount Maunganui most of the sections now have 3 or even 4 hours on them.
We have been running the bed @ breakfast for 16 years and often get comments about how clean our rooms are. You are the first to complain! But we are sorry that we didn’t live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019

Very friendly couple, great room with en-suite. Guest lounge was upstairs with beautiful views of the beach, tea,coffee making facilities, sky tv, dvd. Breakfast was the best, all fresh food and the coffee was magic. Will definitely stay again

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ross m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Thanks Ross m for your review and for choosing Beachside Bed & Breakfast. Look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

We had a last minute change of plans and needed to return to Auckland (from Havelock North) two days early. We drove most of the day and ended up in the Mount looking for somewhere to stay for one night. Saw the B&B sign outside and thought we’d try our luck. What a lucky find indeed. Jim answered the door and was incredibly welcoming and hospitable.
Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Nothing was a problem. We had a beautiful breakfast- hot eggs, bacon etc for my husband and fresh fruit salad and yoghurt for myself....lots of other options available. Jim makes a great cappuccino too!
Direct access to the beach - wish we could have stayed longer and taken full advantage of the location and fabulous hospitality.
You won’t regret a stay here

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JimboMtMaunganui, Owner at Beachside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Thanks Candice for you nice review. Great to have you stay with us. Lovely chat after breakfast.

looking forward to seeing you again. Regards to V.

Jim & Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews