We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A visit to The Lion &Tusk museum.

This was my 2nd visit over an 18month time frame, it's obvious that a lot of work has gone into the... read more

Reviewed 16 June 2021
Cyclops1953
via mobile
This place was incredible - a hidden gem

This place was incredible - a hidden gem. We found it by accident, looking for things to do after... read more

Reviewed 13 December 2020
curriecraig
Read all 38 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Maunganui
from US$107.21
More Info
from US$127.93
More Info
from US$174.21
More Info
from US$77.91
More Info
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
32
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trip down memory lane extensive library well worth the visit boerewors displays volunteers stories military helicopter tribute war visitors tauranga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2020 via mobile

Great morning spent with very willing volunteer Tony. Was privileged to be able to add the Rhodesian Airforce Flag from Thornhill to their collection.
Thanks to all for all your work to give us a quality experience. Definitely recommended.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Excursion664013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Many thanks for taking the time to give a review. We are grateful for your contribution to the museum. Safe travels and hope that you can call again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2019

I was impressed at the number of artefacts displayed. The museum is very well laid out and documents a country and time in history that many people know little about.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank FrankieKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

It was good to meet you and to see that you enjoyed your visit to The Lion and Tusk Museum. Safe travels and all the best for 2020

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2019

We drove down from Whangaparaoa Peninsula especially to visit the museum and weren't disappointed although my husband was physically moved by the memorabilia, (especially the Alouwet helicopter as he was in the airforce), which brought back the reality of the friends and relations that lost their lives or traumatised by it all. The museum had excellent displays and was well worth the visit.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Wendy Hammond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2019

Thank you for visiting The Lion and Tusk Museum and leaving this review. Rhodesia's short history had its highs and its lows. We are doing all in our power to preserve as much as possible for future generations which makes support like yours very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

I was running late but Tony and Hugh generously organised for a volunteer to stay open and show me around. The collection is impressive and historically important, combined with the wealth of knowledge and experience from the hosts, this is an amazing museum. Five stars not enough, definitely worth at least an hour (at least) of your holiday.

Rhodesians never die.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Oskar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Many thanks for your review. We are here to do our best for our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2019

I came upon this museum by accident, it was fabulous, I met Hugh and Tony and spent about an hour talking about the old day's, sadly I had to move on but will certainly be back for some great time rediscovering Rhodesia, there were some artifacts that bought back happy memories. Well done by those concerned.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank rjmabbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2019

Many thanks for your positive review. It was good to meet you and find that our investment in road signage works. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews