We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association
Open today: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
A visit to The Lion &Tusk museum.

This was my 2nd visit over an 18month time frame, it's obvious that a lot of work has gone into the... read more

Reviewed 16 June 2021
Cyclops1953
via mobile
This place was incredible - a hidden gem

This place was incredible - a hidden gem. We found it by accident, looking for things to do after... read more

Reviewed 13 December 2020
curriecraig
Read all 38 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Maunganui
from US$105.74
More Info
from US$126.18
More Info
from US$171.83
More Info
from US$76.84
More Info
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
32
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trip down memory lane extensive library well worth a visit boerewors displays volunteers stories military helicopter tribute war visitors tauranga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2019

Thoroughly enjoyed visiting the museum. Very interesting to view Rhodesia's history. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank KarlaB1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Thank you for visiting The Lion and Tusk Museum and taking the time to put up this review. Your support is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Great ANZAC service and fantastic museum. Brought back some great memories and to show my son some of the history of his parents and grandparents.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Feildingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Thank you for attending our ANZAC Day parade and putting up this review. Your support is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019

One of two places in the world you can see a collection like this. It’s a deeply personal experience with stories and the ‘real deal’ articfacts like the Roll of Honor. Congrats to all involved - highly recommend.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Sidjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2019

Thank you for visiting The Lion and Tusk Museum and leaving this review. We appreciate your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2019 via mobile

We were in awe of the effort that has gone into such an amazing museum. Filled with treasures and tributes to the Rhodesian Security Forces. We highly recommend a visit. Thank you Hugh for taking time out to chat and share some stories. We will be back. Great selection of memorabilia on sale too.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Coventrycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2019

Thanks for visiting The Lion and Tusk Museum. It was an absolute pleasure meeting both of you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2019

Had too much sun and sand? Well take a cool breather at one of Mt Maunganui's most unique visitor attractions.
The Lion & Tusk- Museum of the Rhodesian Services Associations, is situated near the international cricket ground, on Portside Drive in the Mount.

Established by the Rhodesian Services Association the museum itself was set up by one of New Zealand's foremost military historians- Mr Tony Fraser, who already had the creation of the 6th Hauraki Battalion Museum and the 1 RNZIR History Room under his belt at the time of this project.

In addition to a wealth of uniforms, weapons, badges and other items on display- the visitor is greeted by the site of an Alouette III helicopter as they enter the display area.

As well as police and military exhibits, visitors have the unique opportunity to purchase boervorst and biltong from the museum and there was an interesting trickle of regulars coming to top up their supplies during my visit.

Upstairs is a very fine memorial area and reading room where visitors can make use of the museum's extensive library.

There is also a top notch souvenir shop where badges, shirts and books on various African conflicts abound. For the really adventurous- why not buy one of the replica Rhodesian rugby jerseys on sale- then you can amaze your mates with your trivia knowledge on how, despite playing the All Blacks, Rhodesia remains the only national team the ABs never beat!

Well worth the visit.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Tubbytankman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelionandtuskmuseum, Public Relations Manager at The Lion & Tusk - Museum of the Rhodesian Services Association, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2019

Thank you for your detailed review. We appreciate the time you have taken to write this. We know that you will promote The Lion and Tusk Museum among your friends and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews