We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$122
Expedia.comUS$122
Hotels.comUS$122
CheapTicketsUS$122
TravelocityUS$122
Orbitz.comUS$122
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
19
24
11
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
24
11
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice room new zealand noise unit motorway motel accommodation mt hosts facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

We had a good stay at Gateway Motel. The hosts emailed us with useful details about how to get to their place and welcomed as at every step of the process. Good facilities. Nice room. Close to Bayfair for shopping.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank chrissieb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2019

Lent us camp chairs to take to the cricket, dried our washing for us while we were out, got us a discount at a local attraction etc. By and large we found people in New Zealand pretty friendly, but the folks at Gateway were way, way above and beyond. Room etc all fine but we will remember Gateway a long time for the kindness with which we were treated.

Room tip: Back of property away from road.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perelle2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2019

This is an awfully noisy Accommodation Unit. It is situated next to a main railway line with a motorway in between the railway and the property. We were awake half the night listening to trains (at 1.30am & 3.30am) and Traffic noise.
There was a grumpy old man on reception. The rooms are getting a little bit tired and the bathrooms need a total makeover, not to mention the badly stained shower glass from body and soap scum.
Better places around for the same amount. Disappointing.

Room tip: Not the Units alongside the motorway & railway line
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willsy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2019 via mobile

Have stayed at the Gateway before, the rooms are well set out for a family of four. Lots of space and a large corner spa. Sadly this will most probably be the last time we stay as we have encountered midnight frights two times in a row. Smoke alarms going off in the middle of the night waking the whole motel and requiring you to get up and out! This happened to us both times we stayed at the motel two years in a row. Very scary to be woken by a loud siren for the kids and to have to get out in the cold to find out it just a malfunction. We decided to stay again as we like the rooms and area, but after having the alarms go off again we will not be returning. Nothing was said to guest the next morning, no apologies, or explanation. All the fire alarms are linked so the whole motel goes off if someone overcooked something, however we are not sure why the alarms went off both times as the owners dont say anything. My husband got up and went outside to find everyone had gone back to be and ignored the alarms. Not good if it ends up being a real fire as we would just think it was another malfunction. We dont want to stay again as we don't like being woken with such a fright on a Lovely week away, so will be staying elsewhere, we can't risk it happening for a third time.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

Nice motel, clean,owners and staff very helpful, yes its off a highway there is some noise but at night ok.
The rooms and bathrooms are large and free facilities.
Great stop over motel, l stayed 7 days and was able to cover large area.
Airport nearby and recommend joy flights

Room tip: Quiter rooms at back of motel
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregshanahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews