We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great base for exploring glorious West Sussex...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Matchbox Stable

A delightful flint and brick cottage set in the Southdowns National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A delightful flint and brick cottage set in the Southdowns National Park
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
A delightful flint and brick cottage set in the Southdowns National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Singleton, Chichester, West Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane S
1 review
“A great base for exploring glorious West Sussex and the South Downs”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great place to stay for a couple, well equipped and beautifully clean, the owner has thought of everything that you might need and there are excellent country gastro pubs and a cafe within walking distance if you cant be bothered to cook.
We were taking part in a craft fair at Westdean College nearby, so Matchbox stable could not have been more convenient for us.
In addition to that, this is a a very beautiful part of the world between Chichester and Midhurst with some world class historic and cultural attractions to visit. To name a few: The Wield and Downland open air museum, Cass sculpture park, Westdean Gardens, Classical Petworth House, Elizabethan Parham House, Roman mosaics at Bignor and Kingly Vale nature reserve with its ancient yew trees. Goodwood is just around the corner and it turns out that Matchbox Stable was once in fact stabling for a horse named Matchbox that won the Sussex Stakes in 1894.
The South Downs are simply stunning so I highly recommend a visit we had a very enjoyable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Hello Jane
I was so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay so much. I must also thankyou so much for leaving this helpful, detailed review. I have received excellent feedback from former guests who have booked on the strength of reviews so thankyou again for your support.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for such a positive review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards, Margaret N.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chezzers...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Absolutely great value. This lovely little cottage has everything you could possibly ask for. Great location with several lovely walks of different lengths on your doorstep. Margaret has thought of everything and we immediately felt at home from the moment we opened the door. Two great pubs within walking distance that serve really decent food at not outrageous prices. We sincerely hope to return for a longer stay. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thankyou so much for such positive feedback. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again
Many Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andii_J
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A perfect break away from humdrum”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Matchbox Stable Cottage was welcoming, clean, warm and cosy. It had everything you need for a quiet, restful holiday. It also had WiFi, with good connection, although I tried to stay off-line as much as possible. Margaret, the cottage manager, is helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for visiting the West Sussex countryside and coastline. A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thankfyou so much for your positive comments and so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found it so restful.

Hopefully we will see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piazza Armerina, Italy
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was all good
Liked least: there was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your positive, helpful review and I look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing