We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing get away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Frosterley, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Loukev201...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing get away”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We have just came back from a two day break relaxing getaway.

Me and my partner arrived on Friday between 7-8pm greeted by jules (lovely lady) she showed us in to the lodge, explained were to find anything we needed, showed us how to use the hot tub and left us with her number if we needed anything. (Great service)

The lodge was so cozy and very clean it had everything we needed for our stay.
The bathroom was clean and had a great shower,
The bedroom was also clean and so cozy had some great little personal touches to make it more homely,
The lounge and kitchen were also clean and had candles lit on arrival nice touch.

We felt so comfortable staying here although jules house is close by it never once made us feel uncomfortable as we never seen anything of them.

Shops in walking distance and has a great fish shop near by

We can't wait to get another little break as we will definitely be returning

One bad point was the weather as we would have loved to have sat outside in the lovely garden outside the lodge (not really a bad point )

Thank you for letting us stay and experiencing your lodge

Louise and Kevin

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Excellent excellent excellent we had a nice relaxing weekend it's like your own little world peaceful comfortable very clean nice comfortable bed big shower nice big hot tub will defo come again thanks a lot jules and John

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginger7Bu...
Horncastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect getaway retreat.”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were greeted by John (one of the owners) in a friendly and relaxed manner who showed us the lodge and explained about how to use the hot tub and also about the local area and some places we might like to visit. We were left to our own devices for the rest of the week. John and Jules were easily contactable if there were any problems. A welcome pack was waiting for us in the lodge, eggs, cheese, bread milk, butter, everything to get you started on your first day. Plenty of towels were provided both inside the lodge and by the hot tub. The best thing about The Lodge was the super comfy memory foam mattress.
A quiet area with beautiful scenery, this was a perfect getaway retreat.
Thank you Jules and John.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The memory foam mattress
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klairel77
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab stay!”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Firstly, we cannot relate to the previous negative feedback about the Lodge titled "Miss"!

My partner and I have just returned from 2 fabulous days at the Lodge and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a cosy, country retreat away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

On arrival, Jules came out to greet us and showed us up to the Lodge which is indeed at the rear of Jules and Johns house. This for us wasn't a problem as the Lodge and the garden faced away from the main house. Yes this is a residential area and there are neighbours close by but at no point did we feel like we were intruding.

The lodge is very spacious and had everything you need for a self catering holiday, Its very home from home with a double bedroom and bathroom with shower. It was very comfortable but to be honest we spent most of the time in the garden with the fire pit and the BBQ. We enjoyed ourselves that much that we cancelled our Saturday night booking at the pub and stayed at the Lodge.

John came and introduced himself and again couldn't have been more helpful. They provided us with milk after we forgot to buy some, and advice was on hand about the local area and where was good to go walking.

The spa is not situated in the lodge and is attached to the main house, we asked if we could use it later than detailed in the welcome pack which wasn't a problem, neither was the privacy!

Yes the mobile signal and the wifi was a bit iffy but considering the location and the fact you are on holiday, it wasn't an issue for us.

John picked up that it was my birthday and I was sent a lovely card with some chocs and as bottle (Nice touch)

All in all the lodge had everything that we needed, Jules and John were friendly, approachable and on hand if we needed them. We will definitely be rebooking.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
Its a pleasure to have such nice guests it makes our efforts worthwhile.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amelialit...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The lodge itself was ok, clean with a few nice touches. Many complaints unfortunately though. The hot tub is not private and is in fact in the owners house. Which is very awkward indeed. Just covered with a few half open blinds in their conservatory. It also is only open 10-6 (which it doesn't state) so no unwinding in the evening is allowed. The lodge itself in about two steps away from the main house, which again feels very odd. The description makes it sound like your far away in their private garden. But in fact your just right next door. The garden is also not private, many windows from next doors houses can be seen and look right into the lodge. The wifi does not work, and no signal can be found in the lodge! The owner was not around for check out. Didn't tell us when check out was and didn't tell us what to do with the key when we left. (We couldn't ring her because there's no signal) We found this very unprofessional and rude. It worked out we spent no time in frosterley and no time at the lodge as we were too disappointed with it. We went exploring in other places and that made our holiday what it was. Very disappointed with the lodge and very underwhelmed. The description is not accurate enough and was not worth the money in my opinion and we would not have gone here if we had known all this. For 3 days we felt very uneasy feeling like intruders in someone else's home. This definitely should not be described as a holiday home. It is not one. Your just in someone's back garden. Hope this helps others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2015
The hot tub as stated in the description that it is attached to the owners private dwelling and is not inside our home, also in the information pack that is left in the lodge it states that the hot tub can be used up to 8PM in the evening not 6PM as stated, this is due to the filtering process and chemical cleaning of the hot tub. Check in and check out times are as stated on the web site also an email is always sent prior to arrival with check in times of after 3PM, guests arrived early which was not a problem as we try and fit around their timescales but unfortunately unless we ask what time you will be departing which I feel is rude we leave instructions of where to leave the key this was sent by text on the morning of departure to which a text was received back thanking us for the stay! When guests arrive they are pointed to the welcome pack with all the relevant information needed, it is also pointed out that any problems at all please let us know. We were not contacted throughout the stay with notification of any problems, unless we are notified that you are not happy we cannot do anything about it. With regard to the WIFI we provide the password and user id but cannot be held responsible for the service from the provider, sometimes there is limited availability in the area but this is not within our control. We try our best to make our guests welcome and comfortable and have never had a complaint from anyone yet, we are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing