We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
99
35
13
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
35
13
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub fish pie neck of the woods pleasant atmosphere looked delicious sunday lunch local produce good size comfy bed chocolate brownie room was large little gem warm welcome cornwall coldstream nick landlord
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

There is good and bad here.

The good: The venue is a pub. The building is about 120 years old, but did not start as a pub.No matter, there is a lot of character here. The site is in a village called Gulval, only a few minutes from Penzance. The room is large, though a bit spartan. The bathroom is a good size. Both very clean. Tea and coffee making is available but its UHT milk only.

The bad: Sadly there are a few. The bed sat very low to the floor. So low that it was a bit awkward to get up. Further to this, the matress rates as one of the worst we have experienced....ever. No support, and sagged in the middle. There is a 18" TV that by nature of the room size is hard to watch. There are no toiletries supplied except for hand wash, expected to be used in place of soqp or gel. There seems to be a musty smell in the bathroom indicating a drainage issue. There is no hair dryer or fridge.

Remember that this is a pub, and there may be some noise. The pub itself is something you would visit for the experience. The meals are varied and good sized. There is no off street parking but did not present a problem.

While accommodation was booked at a premium time, and no beakfast was included, we believe that tlhe room rate was well above what it was worth.

This is not a property that we would return to.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DFKCowra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Terrible experience.
The Room smelled musky and moldy. The bed, if you ca call it that Keats just say the floor would have been more comfortable.
No hair dryer as advertised and the staff were rude.
The noise from down stairs was horrendous.
Rated in the top two of the wise places I have ever stayed. We left early after booking somewhere else.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

It’s very difficult in places like Cornwall to find a really lovely little hidden pub that’s not too snobby/hyped/touristy/over-priced but this one is it. Really lovely location, in a beautiful village. Lovely old style English pub, friendly staff and the food is amazing!! We came first on a Sunday to explore the spooky old graveyard opposite, and popped in for a drink. Liked it so much we came back for a meal on the Monday. Kids menu is excellent value. Adults food lovely too. Can recommend the fish pie and chilli. Ok, the food takes a little long to come out - but when it’s first class home cooked grub, it’s worth it!! Totally recommend this lovely place!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ClaireB3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed overnight before catching a very early morning ferry to the Scillies. Very welcoming check-in by friendly efficient staff. Good food, good beer and a comfy bed. Job done. Top tip try the fish pie. Yummy.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 542PaulH542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We booked for Sunday lunch arriving at one o'clock, we were immediately shown to a table in the window overlooking the terrace and the village square. The waitress was cheerful and helpful, having taken our order for drinks she advised on the size of portion that we should order- The OAP size which is one of the alternatives on the menu.We are both over seventy. When the food arrived it looked delicious, and was. The roast beef was tender and the vegetables cooked to perfection, the roast potatoes were the best I have had in a restaurant that I can remember. Puddings, apple pie with clotted cream and chocolate brownies were excellent.
The prices charged here are ridiculously low for what you get and the quality, but this should be kept as a well guarded secret or the next time we want to go there may not be room

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldsimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldstreamer I, Owner at The Coldstreamer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your lunchtime with us. We hope to see you again in the future. Many thanks, Nick.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews